The eighties

Dig through your couch cushions, your purse, or the floor of your car and look at the year printed on the first coin you find. What were you doing that year?

A lucky dip into the coin pocket of my handbag handed me a 1981 ten-cent coin. They’re a fairly annoying and useless little silver coin and for some reason you seem to accumulate a lot of them but never seem to be able to get rid of them.

Anyway in 1981 I was 17 and I was attending school doing my final year. I had no interest in school and couldn’t wait to be out of there so I could get a job, go to the beach and spend the weekends partying with my friends. Back then there was no mention of checking anyone’s age at the local Pub so I’d already been going there on weekends since I was 15 so most of my friends were older and already working so I was keen to earn some money as well.

As soon as I left school that year I went to the beach for two weeks and when I arrived home I applied for a job at one of the local accountants offices. I got the job and started straight away so then I rented a flat with a friend and moved out of home.

So I guess 1981 was the beginning of dealing with the grown up world for me.

This was taken in 1982 but I don’t think I aged much in that one year although I certainly look as if I’d packed on a few pounds, must have been all the alcohol and takeaway I was living on

1981

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Buffalo Nickel.”

7 thoughts on “The eighties

  1. You look lovely! In 1982 I had most of my hair cut off after I foolishly gave myself a Jheri curl perm. I didn’t look terrible, but then I didn’t look my best either. I guess it was a good test of my then-boyfriend, who eventually became my husband. He chivalrously claimed not to have noticed anything wrong with my hair and thought I was “cute” and “charming.”

    But yes, the extra alcohol I consumed back in those days did nothing for my figure….

    • I’ve had a perm here as well. A friend of mine was a hairdresser and I let her perm my hair one day but my hair was really quite short at the time. We both ended up in tears that afternoon. I was growing it out in this picture and I never had another one.

Leave a Reply

