Bluebottle invasion

About a month ago we had an invasion of bluebottles on one of the beaches.

bluebottles

They were thick like this over the whole beach, I’ve never seen this many clumped together before and I certainly didn’t venture on to the beach without my shoes on.

bluebottles2

They were swept in during storms and the thought of being out swimming in the water with them all brushing past made me shudder, don’t want to think about how many stings you could have endured. Probably enough to send you into shock.

It’s the tentacle that stings you and they can be metres in length and they have little barbed hooks on them so once they wrap around something they dig in and release a poison that hurts like hell I believe. I’ve never been caught by one and this sight has really put me off going in the water this summer.

They’re pretty things though – prehistoric looking. You can see the long tentacles here, they don’t even need to be attached to the body to latch on either, they can just float around on their own. Ouch.

bluebottles3Council had to clean them up in the end with tractors as they were getting a bit rank.

35 thoughts on “Bluebottle invasion

  1. Oh wow, they are pretty. I saw the picture in my feed and thought, ooh, pretty blue, what are they, seashells? and then saw the title and gasped! I have never been stung by a jellyfish, but the ones we get where we went to the beach aren’t that bad from what I understand. Still I remember my mom’s friend coming out of the ocean every so often with blood running down her leg where she was stung.

    • Lol, yeah they look like glass or something. These ones leave big welts over you where they’ve stuck on and I think people who have asthma or respiratory issues can get into a bit of trouble if they get stung. I don’t know what would happen though if you were stung by hundreds at a time! Maybe I need a wetsuit.

        • Lol, I know, not long ago in the Northern Territory some tourists saw a crocodile and a shark fighting to the death (croc won) and I thought, no way I’m going there.

          • holy crap!
            the lack of water is causing us to have increasing problems with coyotes (one has been seen outside my house twice) and, just outside the city, bears… all seeking food and water. mountain lions will probably be a problem soon too (I mean, they always are but sightings are rare)

          • Up in the Northern Territory some towns have started building fences around themselves as camels are coming in looking for water and have learnt how to turn garden taps on, lol. Kangaroos are struggling with development, new housing estates are encroaching on their land so you see them more often in the burbs. I think I’d rather a snake than a coyote or bear! Better the devil you know I guess

          • yeah, as i was typing that i figured it’s really a matter of whatever you’re used too. just like i’ll take an random earthquake over tornadoes.

            the coyote i saw wasn’t too big…. a medium dog. honestly, no larger than some of the gigantic raccoons i’ve seen around here… including the one that lives under my house

          • I’m pretty sure I’ll never have to deal with an earthquake or a tornado! We’ve only ever really had one bad cyclone here (Tracey) in 1974 and that was up north. The thing to most likely kill you here in NSW would be a road accident.

          • Lol, the highway that runs right through NSW between Victoria and Queensland is the Pacific Highway and it’s just a terrible road. Heaps of people travel it during school holidays heading north and they run this show on TV called How to survive The Pacific Highway, which really puts me off driving on it.

          • Well they became an endangered species due to the usual land clearing and domestic pets etc so they became a protected species to try and keep the biodiversity of the environment maintained. I’m sure a lot of farmers still kill them if they find one in the chicken shed or something but I think more people in towns are finding them in their backyards and they’re meant to call the snake wrangler to release it into the wild.

  2. I saw these in Newcastle before they got this bad. I sent my kids off to play on the beach and I was slowly making my way down there. I have no idea how they didn’t step on one. This was the first time I had seen them in person. Crazy looking things.

    • They’re interesting looking things. It’d be nice to see them all floating out in the water, all floaty and pretty. From a boat or something though, not amongst them.

  3. I’ve always heard that if someone gets stung by something like that you should pee on them to relieve the pain/kill the poison. Might not be true, and might be a whole other creature … all I know is that I’d probably be pretty unpopular if I lived by the beach (trying to save lives and be helpful – with my full bladder at the ready)!

    • Hmmm, yeah I think that’s a myth. You could have tried it on the overseas tourists throwing them at each other though, they mightn’t have known any better and it looked like it was all going to end badly for someone there.

    • LOL @ both of you. Way back when we used to go on family holidays to the beach the Life Savers used to pour vinegar on blue bottle stings…. at least that’s what they told us was in the bottle. 🙂

  4. why is everything in your country trying to kill people?
    has video of the AU suburban kangaroo fight been popular over there? I’ve seen it on at least 5 different tv shows, plus all over the interwebs… largely because it reinforces our belief that you all have roos & koalas everywhere

    • I haven’t even watched it. That’s how blasé I am about roos fighting in the streets. Not. I haven’t seen this happen before in suburbia but I think it was on the news and it was on FB. I am more scared of the bluebottle than the roo.

      • we had an invasion of some kind of prehistoric sea jellies too – ours were also blue but looked like bubbles and i think we were told they weren’t too venomous. super rare event that had everyone wondering what caused it to happen (and what the heck they were) – because it also happened at multiple beaches over several days.

      • was just looking it up. 1/2 the reports say ours were also blue bottle jellies but I think the other 1/2, which say they’re something called a velella are the accurate reports. It was back in June.

Leave a Reply

