Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer

What’s your travel style? Are you itinerary and schedule driven, needing to have every step mapped out in advance or are you content to arrive without a plan and let happenstance be your guide?

Funny you should mention it. I was trying not to think about travelling today as I’m getting on that cruise ship tomorrow. A great big heavy ship, with lots of people on it, floating about out on the seas – in the dark. Not permanently dark obviously but it departs at night so we’ll be straight into night-time.

I don’t like being on boats; I like the idea of being on one until I’m actually on it and out in the middle of a large body of water. It’s the large body of water that I’m really afraid of so I should be grateful that I’m in the boat.

But you can’t let your fears mess with your mind and I really do expect it to be a lot of fun and at least this way I’ll know if it’s a sailor’s life for me.

When our kids were small and we travelled I used to map it all out and have a plan because kids like to have a plan; they need snacks and a spare set of clothes and activity books and drinks – but now that we travel mostly without them we wing it more.

This cruise ship came into our harbour a couple of weeks ago and it was pretty impressive. Maybe not for the passengers though as they don’t pull into a nice terminal, they pull in at our coal terminal, which I myself think would be more interesting.

Here it is coming around the lighthouse past dog beach (which is the beach where you can take dogs). It looks like it’s floating by in about 6 inches of water – it’s always amazing to stand there and watch them go by, you feel as if you could just about reach out and touch them.

Bon Voyage!! (There doesn’t appear to be a lot of life boats does there)

cruising

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Humans and the wandering journey | Wired With Words

  3. I wonder if that’s the same boat that was in our harbor last week… I know it was “Celebrity X Cruises” because I’d never seen that logo before. I see them from a bridge, where I’m level with their top level, so they look much smaller to me!!

      • I know Carnival has a dock in Long Beach, next to the Queen Mary (in fact, it is the old Spruce Goose dome). I see a lot of different boats at the dock in San Pedro – can’t remember if they’ve all be Celebrity or not… no, I’m pretty sure some used to be Princess Cruise lines… but maybe they were bought out? I dunno. I just know that AdamCat’s surgery day was the first time I’d see the Celebrity X logo.

        • No idea about cruise lines. It’s really only just taking off here in Australia. We have Carnival) and P & O (who I think own Carnival anyway) and they just go around the islands – Vanuatu, Fiji etc and someone goes to New Zealand. Royal Caribbean comes in every now and then and does Hawaii. Australians have really only taken up cruising in a big way over the past few years – probably because it’s so cheap and they’re all sick of going to Bail and Thailand.

Leave a Reply

