Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)

What is the best dream you’ve ever had? Recount it for us in all its ethereal glory. If no dream stands out in your memory, recount your worst nightmare. Leave no frightening detail out.

I don’t know if I mentioned it before but I’m going on one of those sampler cruises in a few weeks. The date seems to be rushing towards me at an alarming rate; who’d have thought March would arrive so quickly.

Anyway my sister in law was visiting about a month ago and she said she was going on a three night sampler cruise as her family wants to go on a longer cruise around the Islands and she wants to make sure she won’t hate it first. She said – you should come and I said – yeah right. But then I thought about it and the next day decided we’d go because people who go on cruises seem to love them and if my mother ever does decide she wants me to go on a longer one with her I’ll know if I can hack it.

So it leaves from Sydney on a Friday night and gets back into Sydney Monday morning and it just goes up and then down the coast in between.

I was pretty excited about it and now I’ve moved into slightly freaked out about it and I’m hoping to move into pleasantly anticipating it next week. I’m not worried about getting sea sick or anything, it’s just the thought of being on a boat – out in water, I don’t really like boats or water but face your fears and all that.

Anyway last night I had this dream that we were on the boat and seriously it wasn’t much bigger than the Manly ferry – in fact it looked like something people smugglers might have sold to the cruise line. There was definitely no pool or waterslide or fancy restaurants or shopping malls on it. It makes my tummy feel a bit wobbly just thinking about it actually.

Bon Voyage – The Bergensfjord – taken by Papa in Scandanavia in 1956.

Bon-Voyage

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)

  1. Aww, you’ll have a great time! Just bring Dramamine for the sea sickness, or get those bands you put on your wrist which supposedly help fight nausea and dizziness.

    I once dreamed I rode a whale after the boat I’d been sailing in sunk. It wasn’t fun: I was terrified.

    • Well I rode an elephant in Thailand and I can assure you that was no fun either.

      I’m not concerned at all about being sick – I don’t suffer from any kind of motion/travel sickness. I’m just concerned about the fact that I’m on this massive big ship – 8 stories high – floating about on the sea. And how do they keep all that food fresh for so long for so many people – and where does all the fresh water come from – how does this ship stay afloat anyway with all the weight it must hold and are there enough life boats, didn’t look like it to me.

      But I do plan on having a good time and I am looking forward to it – mostly.

  2. Pingback: Until then… | Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

