Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately)

What’s the household task you most dislike doing? Why do you think that is — is it the task itself, or something more?

It would have to be the washing – laundry. You can never get on top of it and there’s always a pile of clothes or towels somewhere waiting to be dealt with. If they’re not in the bathroom basket dirty they’re on the line, or in another basket waiting to be folded, or in a pile waiting for someone to put them away and when you go back into the bathroom that night there’s the basket half full of dirty clothes again. Or you open the washing machine and there’s a load of damp towels in there that someone (me) forgot to hang up. Or some other lazy bastard has come along and needed to use the machine so they’ve just dumped the damp towels in the sink and not bothered to hang them up. Or you wonder why you haven’t got any clothes or towels and then find them a month later in the clothes dryer.

 

16 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately)

  1. Pingback: Housework: Doing It And Doing It And Doing It Well | Edward Hotspur

  2. Pingback: The Camino Plan | Your Backpack Is A Portable Laundry Line: Washing Clothes on the Camino

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately) | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately) | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Home | The Wandering Poet

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt; Home: I just hate it! | Words 'n Pics...

  7. I hate washing dishes. I do it because I hate even more seeing piles of dirty dishes clogging up the kitchen sink—when I visit my kids, I have to restrain myself from leaping into the kitchen and madly washing up the dirty plates and coffee mugs they’ve left all over the place. Laundry by comparison is a piece of cake. The machine does all of the work, except for the folding and ironing (if I even bother), and then there’s something soothing about that task.

    Then again, if I had to carry all of my laundry across the street to the laundromat like my older daughter and son-in-law have to do in New York, I’d hate to do the laundry as well.

    • A dishwasher takes the bother out of dirty dishes – you just have to make sure you train everyone to put things in there and then they’re out of sight. My husband unpacks the dishwasher before he goes to work and puts it on at night so I never really have to deal with that.

      Clothes though – they just seem to be evrywhere and everyone does dirty jobs so nothing can be mixed. Daz’s things are always covered in dirt and grease and my daughter’s work things always smell of massage oil that I don’t want mixed through with mine every day I seem to be doing washing for a different person. I don’t iron though – anything.

  8. i get joy out of stripping off my clothing to throw it in with the last load, then walking nekked into the house to shower and know that literally ALL the dirty items are in the wash.

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves | A Room of One's Own

  10. Pingback: Whoa! That is one huge mountain of laundry! | My Life. One Story at a Time.

Leave a Reply

