Daily Prompt: All It’s Cracked Up to Be

Tell us about a time when everything actually turned out exactly as you’d hoped.

Hopefully it’ll be the results of the blood tests I had done yesterday.

I didn’t know this but in Australia, if you’re between the ages of 45 and 50 you’re entitled to a free health check/assessment with your doctor. Being 50 soon I almost slipped through the cracks but the surgery rang and told me about it so I thought I may as well do it. The sister told me it was good for – people like me – who don’t go to the doctor until they’re sick as opposed to those who race there at the first whiff of an ache or pain and seeing as how I’m never sick, I haven’t been for a long, long time.

Anyway so it’s an hour-long appointment and first you see the sister and she takes your height, weight, waist measurement and blood pressure. Then she goes through a list of questions regarding your diet, exercise, smoking, drinking and family health and gives you an assessment of your risk of diabetes, heart disease and other nasty things that usually end up killing us. You can chat about any concerns you have and then you have 15 minutes with your doctor and they follow-up on anything that’s emerged that needs attention and then they take some blood and test you for everything and that’s that.

I said – So I’ll see you when I hit the 50 – 55 age group and she said – not; the government doesn’t offer you another chance until you turn 70. So I have to stay healthy for another 20 years.

I’m not expecting anything too awful but I am expecting my cholesterol to be high because it always is. The first call back I had for high cholesterol levels was when I was in my early 20’s and there it has stayed despite me not eating meat or dairy or takeaway food. So I’m not going to worry too much about it unless my normal high level is higher than high.

So it’s a good idea to take up the offer I think – if you’re between 45 and 50 give your doctor a call and set it up.

19 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: All It’s Cracked Up to Be

  1. I am getting my cholesterol checked soon but I’m not too worried, it was high when I first got it checked at age 36 but I am one of the lucky ones who can control it with diet and exercise and my diet is better than it has ever been so it *should* be good. Fingers crossed for you!

    • Well if I was an obese smoker with high blood pressure I’d be worried about it being high but seeing as how I’m generally pretty fit I’m hoping it won’t kill me. It’s very hard to fight your genetics though – god knows I try. Every time I think I can’t be bothered exercising I just remember my mothers thighs and that gets me moving.

  2. Pingback: All it’s cracked up to be… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  3. Jane, I’m glad you decided to go and do this. I don’t go to the doctor as often as I should either. I go probably about once a year. This year I went in for my first mammogram. It wasn’t too uncomfortable.

    • I wouldn’t even go that often but I was planning on going when I turned 50 to have a check up – I do it on all the 0 birthdays.

      I’ve had three or four mammograms now and I don’t know what all the fuss is about. When I went for the first one I was terrified because of all the horror stories people tell and obvioualy it wasn’t pleasant but not at all what I was expecting.

  4. I’ve been pre-diabetic for years, and it has nothing to do with my diet. My pancreas periodically gets crabby and won’t work properly. As for cholesterol, that’s also linked to heredity. They could give you medication to control it, but no one I know enjoys it. Maybe drink more red wine? 😉

    • lol, I’m a white wine drinker

      Bloody parents, passing on all their rubbish genes – I said to my mother not long ago, bloody hell it seems that you’re ringing me every week to tell me about some new genetic mess you’ve possibly passed on

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: All Its Cracked Up to Be |

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: All It’s Cracked Up To Be | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

    • Lol, well I guess the govt thinks it’s a good idea but don’t really want to cover the cost of everyone actually doing it so don’t promote it.

  7. Pingback: Zero to Hero Day 14: Blogger’s Choice | The Dragon's Lair

  8. Pingback: What a week! Purrrrfect! | Words 'n Pics...

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt – All It’s Cracked Up To Be | Joe's Musings

  10. Pingback: The Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows: A Must-See For Lovers of Linguistics | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

