Daily Prompt: Ripped from the Headlines

Click over to whatever website you visit most frequently to get news. Find the third headline on the page. Make sure that headline is in your post.

Headline: Woman refuses to look at news on the internet as it confirms her opinion that the world sucks.

I realised quite a while ago that every time I glanced at a website that covered news or current affairs all I saw were stories about a celebrity losing weight/getting divorced or a woman or child being raped and murdered or an animal being mistreated in some way or cricket scores.

And I just thought, you know what, I don’t need to see this stuff because it just makes me disillusioned in the world and people. Because I’m not the kind of person who can just see or read something and then brush it off or forget about it; instead it sears itself into my memory and I think about it for years, possibly forever.

So instead I watch the 7.30 report on ABC which focuses on things of national or global importance and the SBS news which also tends to stay away from all that stuff that I don’t want to see and can’t stop from happening anyway.

6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Ripped from the Headlines

    • lol, thats the way I like it – denial is highly underrated

      My card arrived – thanks muchly – I’ll crack it out for my 50th birthday since it missed new year – love the stamps, pity they put the stamp right over her eyes though

      • Oh, you got the Rosa Parks stamps! Everyone else got an international stamp or “Celebrate!”

        That took an oddly long time to reach you! My stuff used to get to AU in 3 days.

        • Yeah they were really cool – a nice change from all the stamps I’m used to seeing. Australia Post keeps the same stamps hanging around for ages; they’ve had these rural ones going for what seems like years now. I buy them by the 100 box for work and every time I go in I say – please, not the cows again – but it always is.

          Mind you I doubt many people I know would know who Rosa Parks was but I can’t be too harsh on them – I guess if a sent a stamp to the USA with Eddie Mabo on it no one over there would know who he was either.

          I might give them to Mum, I was over there looking through stuff on the weekend and saw bundles of stamps and she said that yes she used to collect them.

  1. I stopped watching the news a long time ago for the same reasons. At work, we’re pretty much in a bubble. Now I don’t hear about anything unless either my husband tells me or I see it on Twitter. The last thing I want to hear about is another school shooting or whatever.

    • I like to watch the end and see the local weather but if anyone tries to tell me something awful they’ve heard I block my ears – lalalalalalala – can’t hear you

Leave a Reply

