for the girl who likes to have a goal

My youngest daughter gave me a fit bit flex for christmas which is really just a fancy pedometer. It was another good idea for me because I like to have a goal (or an obsession), it tracks your steps, activity, calories burned bla bla and this was my log for yesterday.

Take that fancy pedometer – kicked your recommended 10,000 steps arse.

fitbit

It’s a lot of steps, 10,000, I don’t think many people would get their recommended daily dose. I know I only reach mine because I jog/walk 6 km in the mornings then I make up the rest poking about the garden, washing, shopping and whatever because the rest of the time I’m sitting at a desk. People who get up, go to work and sit at a desk all day then drive home again would be lucky to rack up two or three thousand. I read somewhere that Amish people average 20,000 a day and waitresses do a lot of stepping through their days, most other people not so much.

It’s not a gift for one with obsessive compulsive tendencies though (of which I may possibly be one) because you can become obsessed with reaching that magic 10,000 number. I had a pedometer years ago but had to throw it away because I kept bumping up my daily goal until I was doing 20,000 steps a day and I practically had to walk a half marathon to meet it. I’d be up in the garage skipping before I went to bed or doing jumping jacks every spare minute I had if I was short.

So this one will just be staying put at 10,000.

The good thing about this one is that it tracks your sleep as well and this is my sleep log for last night and it’s been the same every night. I know I sleep badly but I’m not sure if it makes me feel better or worse seeing it plotted on a graph.

sleep-log

So the dark blue is when I was asleep and the light blue when I was tossing and turning. As my husband said – no wonder you’re so cranky and unpleasant in the mornings.

I know it’s just a sort of rough idea because it can’t tell you why you were restless i.e. Chicken Little trying to burrow her head under the sheet or the massive cat fight outside the window at 3am but still, that’s a lousy nights sleep. Also it can’t tell when you’re awake but lying there being still because I know I was awake at 3am because I looked at the clock after the 3am cat brawl and lay there for a while thinking about how I hate those people down the road who don’t lock their cats in at night.

Anyway times a wasting – time for me to get moving.

14 thoughts on “for the girl who likes to have a goal

    • The sleep thing is kind of depressing me!

      Do you have the active minutes graph? It seems to expect me to be very active. The other day I only had 7 active minutes up for the day but I’d done the 10,000 steps. Musn’t have done them fast enough.

      • I have moderate & vigorous graphs and can change what counts. My current “moderate” level starts at what the site claims is “activities like sitting” but… uuh.. no. And I never ever ever reach the default ‘vigorous’ setting. I have to do all the reprogramming in the online app. Dunno how yours works.

        • Mines purely to do with movement – no heart rate monitor on it. I think it’s the amount of steps per minute you do that determines how active youve been.

          • most of them have mini gyroscopes in them. i think moving my arms in certain directions makes it count more activity than is actually occurring. i really can’t figure out what it’s using to detect exertion.

      • oh, mine also thinks that lifting super heavy weights is only “moderate” (even after I adjusted it down) – despite my heart & breath rates. But strolling through the gym? That’s somehow “vigorous”.

    • Lol – yeah – this one you wear around your wrist – my husband wore it one day so he could try and beat my record and I reckon he was just sitting over in the park swinging his arm around.

  1. I have the Fitbit One. I agree, the average person is probably not going to get 10,000 steps a day. On days when I have lots of work and spend a the majority of the day at my desk, I don’t even come close.

    • Yesterday I had to make a two hour driving trip then met up met up with a friend for lunch and I only managed 2045 with all the sitting. Being the obsessive that I am though I jumped on the treadmill when I got home then did some skipping to make up the numbers.

Leave a Reply

