Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You?

Do you have a tattoo? If so, what’s the story behind your ink? If you don’t have a tattoo, what might you consider getting emblazoned on you skin?

This is always an annoying sort of question because a lot of the time tattoos don’t have a story behind them. Sometimes you’re like me – you just like tattoos so you get them, nothing deep and meaningful to them.

Here I am yesterday looking all summery, ready for our family christmas get together at Mums.

me

You can only see a couple here but I have tattoos on my back, wrists and forearms and only one has any sort of meaning to it. I have a love heart with three flowers on a vine wrapped around it on my arm which I got after I decided I was only having three kids but it caused nothing but trouble really. For years when they were all small my kids fought over which one of them was the flower at the top of the heart and my 21-year-old still occasionally points to it and says – that’s me isn’t it.

Besides two swallows that I had done on my wrists a couple of years ago all mine were done about twenty years ago. I went in and had a fairy done on my back then got home and thought – that was stupid, I’m only ever going to see it when I’m looking over my shoulder in a mirror. So I went back and said I wanted a butterfly on my arm and was told that they didn’t tattoo girls arms – so that’s how old I am! Anyway there was a bit of a discussion and they decided that they would so that was that.

I’ve never been sorry about getting them and I don’t care about them being old and wrinkly when I am like people seem to think I will be. I don’t think I’ll be getting anymore though because damn it does hurt and I’m all soft and pathetic now and when I had the swallows done I wondered how the hell I’d sat through all those hours years before.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/01/prompt-tattoo/

22 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You?

  1. I was talking about this with a friend just yesterday and watching something about it too! It was a whole discussion/argument where an upper class lady kept thinking anyone who gets a tattoo is simply begging for attention and will never be employed, which is pretty much a load of rubbish! I love tattoos a lot and I do think they can be absolutely beautiful, meaning or no meaning. Personally I’m dying to get one of a Yin-Yang symbol with the words ‘All things are One’ from my favourite book snaking around it because I love the quote and the concept of Yin-Yang. Unfortunately I’m also a wimp and haven’t quite geared myself up to bear the pain! One day though! Thanks for the post! =D

    • People have all sorts of ideas about them. My daughters friend wants to get one on her arm but her mother is mortified and says she’ll never be able to wear a wedding dress with no sleeves. Lol, why?? I said. It’s more about her than the girl. When my kids were little and starting school I always covered my arms when going up to the school for a good while until I knew that the teachers knew me and knew my kids and wouldn’t judge them by the way I looked because people do. They like to think they’re all open minded but they’re not. So I didn’t want them thinking my kids were the spawn of a bikie whore or something (and yes I have been called that).

      The only attention I really receive from people is from ones who are really interested, ones like that lady you speak of would never say anything directly, they’d just turn their nose up and talk behind my back and I don’t care about them at all.

      Anyone who says getting a tattoo doesn’t hurt is just lying! That or trying to look like a tough dude. There’s no rush though, you’re never too old. A girl told me not long ago that she’d recently tattooed the arm of a 90 year old man who’s wife had died – she said it was like tattooing tissue paper, lol.

  2. I have a peacock feather on my foot, to honour my dad who has a peacock on his arm. I also have a tribal on my back that I got when I was 17 and dumb (I wish it had a meaning behind it but it really doesnt!)

  3. Pingback: What I Think Of Tattoos | The Jittery Goat

  4. Pingback: The Art of Choosing Ink | The Silver Leaf Journal

  5. Why wouldn’t that one artist tattoo “girls arms?” Because they’re too skinny? Because he’s scared he’ll make a mistake on such a visible site?

    I have a rose and butterfly tattooed on my left arm, and a gecko curled into a spiraling circle on my right. The left one is small and didn’t hurt as bad as the gecko, which is all black and required a lot of poking in the same place, over and over again. That one made me swear I’d never get another tattoo again. It was expensive as well: the place I went to had very good artists and the work was high-quality, but they charged more than some of the newer, dodgier places in the trendy parts of town. I used to think of getting a large body tattoo of a dragon wrapped around my torso, but with all the aches and pain I have now, I don’t think I want to voluntarily endure more, lol.

    • Lol, it wasn’t just him, it was just the code at the time around here. This was twenty years ago and no girls here had tattoos in sight – the only girl who did had a lot and she went into shows and things. Maybe they thought girls would be sorry later about the stigma that comes with being tattooed, I dunno, I don’t really remember know why – I was kind of in shock at the time that these guys had these ethics at all.

      I’d get more but yeah, the pain puts me off as well. I always thought the ribs would be a killer.

    • I’ve never been big on worrying about what other people thought of me. When you grow up in a very small town everyone has something to say about you – you’d go mad if you let it get to you.

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Tattoo….. You? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  8. Pingback: Tattoo… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | Hear Em Rant Oft

  10. I don’t have one, but have been toying with the idea of getting “42” tatted somewhere – upper arm, maybe? I might do it when I am in Oz in April – then when I get home it’s a done deal and Husband will just have to lump it!

    42 = the answer to everything. So, the only tat I would ever need.

Leave a Reply

