Daily Prompt: Safety First

Share the story of a time you felt unsafe.

If you insist.

That would be the time a man tried to talk me into getting into his car when I was walking home from the shops one day when I was 15 years old. I was pretty calm about it really and didn’t freak out but my fight or flight response was definitely gearing up ready for action. Actually it did get some action.

So I was walking along the footpath – it was about 5pm – and I was going past the local High School so it was a huge distance with no houses on my side, just school ovals then empty school. He pulled up beside me and asked if I wanted a lift and I kept walking and said no thanks and he drove along beside me for a while saying things like come on, get in and I’ll take you home and where do you live and whats your name and we could go to the park (eww, no thanks creepo) etc but I just ignored him and kept walking. Then he drove up a bit in front of me and pulled over and got out and leant against the side of the car and I thought – hello, we’ve just stepped it up a notch here. So I just kept the pace up and walked past him and he said just tell me where you live so I pointed up past the school and said I live up there a couple of streets past the school (obviously I didn’t) and he got in his car and drove up just past the school and got out again. So then I took the flight option and bolted over the street and round the corner and ran as fast as I could back home (luckily I was a good sprinter back then) and my brother was home and I told him and he went off in his car to find this guy but didn’t and no one knew anything about him and I never saw him again.

And it never bothered me again.

Except it must have somewhere in my subconscious because………

A few weeks ago I was walking to meet some friends for lunch and I walked past this huge park area and I live in an area that is fairly notorious for its abundance of street walkers and I don’t know if this guy thought I was one or not (I mean really, you’d hope not wouldn’t you but the alternative is just as creepy) but he did a sort of mini similar thing and I really felt like I was right back there at 15 years old again.

He drove past me (travelling the same way) but then braked and reversed back past me and stopped just behind me but I didn’t want to turn and look at him because the first rule of walking the street-walker strip alone is don’t make eye contact with any men driving past. So then he just drove along next to me for a weeny bit but I kept walking and he took off but it did make me nervous and it was only because of what had happened when I was younger but I didn’t feel unsafe this time as it’s a main highway and plenty of businesses around and I guess once he knew I wasn’t a hooker he wasn’t interested.

Anyway men suck sometimes.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/category/daily-prompts/

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Safety First

  1. I was talking with a group of women, most of us middle-aged, about how none of us felt safe going out at night by ourselves, especially since the city has been trying to save money by shutting off the street lights in all but the busiest places. (It doesn’t seem logical: if a public area is filled with people and businesses that are open at night, you don’t need extra lights. The places you do need extra lighting are the ones that are most desolate and least safe for those walking alone.) But this led to all of us sharing stories similar to yours, where some creep approached us when we younger and tried to coax us into his car or press us to tell him where we lived, etc. I don’t know many men who have gone through this sort of thing, or will admit it, anyway. It does make you wonder where these stalker/molester types get the impression that women and girls are just meat and all they have to do is try to convince one to come with them. I’ve told my daughters that if some stranger laid a hand on them, fingernails in eyeballs are fair game. The jujitsu sensei also showed me a neat trick where you grab an attacker by the top of the ears, yank their heads down, and then you smash their jaws with your knee. I wish I’d known that the last time a guy followed me down a lonely street.

    • I used to walk Chicken Little in a fairly isolated spot – because she’s a freak who hates dogs and people so we have to lurk about less populated areas – and whenever I’d pass a man walking in the opposite direction I’d always turn and look after half a dozen or so steps just to make sure he wasn’t coming back to attack me. I’m sure I could walk that path every day for 100 years and not have anything happen and it’s annoying that I feel the need to do it. Men just walk about where they want when they want oblivious to it all.

      Back when I was doing kick boxing I did a six week self defence course and we learnt some similar moves and they’re all still back there in my mind – it’s something girls should be taught in P.E at school.

  2. Well, at least you know that if the budget is tight you can pick up some extra money …

    As a man I’ll agree whole-heartedly that men do indeed suck sometimes, and some men are creeps all the time.

    • Lol – without a doubt. I’ve been on a morning walk and I mean about 8am in my cheap green track suit pants and had a guy slow down thinking I was a hooker. He was embarrassed about it, lol, I felt like saying seriously – how desperate are you mate.

  3. I once had a guy try to block me while I was walking to my high-school job. He held up a roll of bills. I’ve always thought it was funny that the sole bill that I could see was $1. I mean, who’s gonna give it up to a stranger for a roll of singles?!?

Leave a Reply

