Passing ships

Where I live we export coal; biggest coal exporting harbour in the world, so it’s not unusual to be walking down the path and see something like this coming around the corner.

ship-coming-in

 

It’s not a huge harbour, with a good arm you could just about throw a rock from one side to the other so these huge coal ships always seem to be passing right by you. I know people ooh and aah over the sight of a huge cruise ship sailing into Sydney harbour but I’ve seen some pretty spectacular sights in our little harbour as well.

I have tug boat driver envy at the moment – I’m thinking it may have been something I should have pursued. They just look so happy and chipper those little boats, happy to be out there playing with the big boys.

tugs-hard-at-work

Mayfield-tug

 

They work 24/7 bringing ships in and out depending on the tides and there’s always a line of ships waiting out on the horizon. They take them out around the lighthouse and set them off.

heading-out-past-nobbys

 

And then the next one’s ready and waiting to be brought in.

ships-passing

 

Hard work for them that day because it was so windy – I almost got blown off the breakwall and I had to make a run for the car when I saw this heading my way, almost made it as well.

nobbys-lighthouse

 

I hope this kite surfer didn’t get blown away.

kite-surfer

I think Autumn has arrived.

13 thoughts on “Passing ships

    • It’s pretty interesting – always something happening there. We get cruise ships every now and then but they just mean too many damn people roaming about town.

  1. great pics!
    we always have a backup of cargo ships waiting to get into the harbor. i go though the ports of long beach & la (really, one continuous harbor) and want to take pics but the bridges are 2 lane and everyone is driving way above the speed limit so taking pics seems… unwise. One day I’ll go over to San Pedro and take pics during a walkabout… we have cargo ships, military ships and cruise ships. it’s actually pretty impressive.

      • anything and everything. most stuff is in cargo containers – so that’s all i usually see. there used to be tons & tons of new cars but now they store them somewhere else so I don’t see them.
        i didn’t think much about the port till a coworker brought back pics of the Panama Canal and it looked exactly like what i see all the time.

  2. I love to run along the breakwall/foreshore when a ship is heading out! Sometimes it feels like I’m racing them as they go pretty slow. Your photos capture it well, especially the first one – they really do feel like they are that close.

    On the plus side the cruise ships make for a nice backdrop for a beautiful sunset like yesterday šŸ™‚

    • I nearly got blown off there on that day I took the photos. I saw the cruise ship yesterday – it was pretty busy in there. There was the P & O, a cargo ship, the tugs, the Nova boat and a fishing boat one in front of the other – great weather as well.

  3. The sky and waves look approaching fierce, but I wish I was on that shore! (Los Angeles is heating up)

    I like the boats but what really took my eye is that lighthouse, placed at the end of a swirling path, on top of a green hill. Workmanlike and artistic.

    • It is lovely out there – that breakwall was built by convicts, massive effort. On the weekends heaps of people walk/run out there and back.

Leave a Reply

