Walking

The last 500 metres of my walk is killer, if Daz comes with me he has to bring his ventolin.

Once you get to the top of the steps you go around to the right and end up near that old building right up in the top right corner.

final-climb

The steps are at a really awkward distance apart as well; I have to take two steps on one then one on the next and when I’m coming down I feel like a little pony daintily trotting down because it’s the same thing – 2 steps then one and you can’t go too fast as it’s really steep. I can never quite work out if I want to step down with my left foot or my right either.

Back down a hill past the end of the beach where not many people go. The water has been crystal clear and it’s still pretty warm in. All those little dots on the horizon are coal ships waiting to come into the harbour – 24/7 they come in and out, depending on the tides.

gone-fishing

Finally back on flat ground up near one of the main beaches and the canoe pool there on the left. I have no idea why it’s called the canoe pool and I’m yet to see one in there; what you do see are kids and lots of them. The pool is really shallow and built-in and massive and it’s perfect for little kids. There’s supposed to be a map of the world on the bottom but I think it’s all covered now.

canoe-pool

I can’t believe this autumn – we’re going to be in for a shock when winter finally turns up.

9 thoughts on “Walking

        • Hmm, no idea why it looks like that, it certainly doesn’t look like that when you’re next to it. Maybe this was taken during winter as there isn’t anyone about and the streets are empty as well – usually you cn’t get a park anywhere along that esplanade. It must be low tide as well because those rocks are covered during high tide.

Leave a Reply

