Daily Prompt: Wall to wall

What do you display on the walls of your home — photos, posters, artwork, nothing? How do you choose what to display? What mood are you trying to create?

Well I have a really nice world map hanging in my office that I bought a few months ago. It’s a big chunky thing and whenever someone sits in the lounge under it I hope my husband secured it firmly to the wall.

The-world

But mostly I just stick up photos. I ususally just stick them up with double sided tape until I cover a wall or the back of a door.

The guy who lived here before us made it a bit easier for me in the kitchen because he installed a mini orb wall there so I just have to stick a bit of magnet on the back of the photos and up they go. I don’t know why people have mini orb kitchens and bathrooms, just feels to me as if you’re in a shed but I’m gradually working my way over it.

photo-wall

I’m not trying to create a mood, I’m just trying to look at the photos I take of my family and friends instead of letting them just sit in the camera or on the computer or on the shelf in a book.

14 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Wall to wall

    • It caught my eye as soon as I walked into the shop, it’s just really chunky and rustic and the colours are beautiful. They gave me $70 off the price as well as it had a crack in a support on the back which only needed a bit of wood glue to fix. I often find myself standing in front of it looking for places and it’s pretty cool how the USSR is on there. AND the little town I live in is on there as well.

  1. I love your photo wall! I stick photos up around the place. I have a lot of photos of people who are no longer around, just so I can remember them and feel their presence. I also have photos of people who are still around to balance things out. I have heaps of paintings hung on my walls, most of them are just pretty pictures of flowers and such. They brighten my place up.

    • I know what you mean – we were friends with a little girl who died 14 years ago when she was only four and I keep her photo sticky taped right on the corner of my computer moniter so I can see her every day. Up on the wall in front of me I have one of my Dad and my Nan – I keep the ones who have gone right in front of my face, lol.

      Just seems that in the age of digital cameras too many photos get stuck on phones or computers and whats the point of that!

    • Plenty of that here as well. Three weeks of builders ripping up the bathroom has left a nice thick layer of dust all over the place. I was thinking of having the floors sanded next but the thought of the dust is putting me off.

    • I didn’t think of my books. I used to have a huge full wall bookshelf at the old house – had it specially built -but here I sort of have to stack them around. I heard that the people who bought our place ripped it all out. Not readers obviously.

Leave a Reply

