Daily Prompt: Comedy of Errors

Murphy’s Law says, “Anything that can go wrong will go wrong.” Write about a time everything did

It was a school project about Mars that one of the kids had to do and we used a balloon to make a paper mache representation of the planet.

By the end of the weekend I thought I was starring in a Seinfeld episode.

I just hope Mars has a lot of craters in it because that thing spent a lot of the weekend bouncing about the garden and being chased by dogs when it was meant to be on the clothesline drying. Every time I looked outside that thing was off having an adventure in the garden. The poor thing had so many soggy layers of newspaper on it I doubt it ever had a chance of really drying though, it was never going to be one of those pinatas that are so rock solid you need a chainsaw to open them. In fact the final indignity for that poor thing (besides being a very unflattering shade of orange) was when we burst the balloon inside and it deflated and sucked in the sides even more instead of coming away cleanly.

It looked like something out of an Edvard Munch painting.

I knew we should have done the diorama – I’m really good at them.

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Comedy of Errors

  1. Do you think teachers lie awake at night dreaming up these torturous projects? We had to make a whole solar system once – ours consisted of hand painted polystyrene balls (paint wouldn’t stick to the damn things) hanging by string from a wire coat hanger. Daughter was 9 so you can guess who did most of the work. Another time they wanted us to construct a bridge from icy pole sticks. I just refused.

    • Lol, well I actually considered that solar system idea so glad I didn’t go through with it. There were two teachers in primary school that all my kids had and I adored them because they didn’t believe in homework or after school projects. They thought you should be working hard enough at school that you went home worn out and with everything done.

  2. I remember my first valentines day at school, I made little hearts out of notebook paper. I was so embarrassed handing them out after I realized everybody else had the store bought one.

Leave a Reply

