Day 25: would you rather date someone plain with an amazing personality or someone beautiful with a plain personality?

Well obviously I’d rather date someone beautiful with an amazing personality but that’s not an option unfortunately so I’ll have to settle for my husband.

I suppose he’s not hideously awful to look at (besides that time he got the terrible short haircut and I couldn’t stand to look at him) and although he does shit me to tears sometimes and causes me moments of intense rage often, I know he’s always got my back, he’d support anything I wanted to do and he does what I tell him to.

Honestly if he were to drop off the perch tomorrow or run off with one of the above options I couldn’t be bothered dating again – I couldn’t think of anything worse actually, all that effort of being nice and shaving your legs and staying out until after 8pm – forget about it.

Lol – just remembered something though. We were driving along one day and the radio was playing a song that I said could be included in my funeral festival and then we were talking about getting married again and I said I probably couldn’t be bothered and he said that he might because – who knows – he might meet the love of his life. Wow thanks I said – what am just here filling in the time until she turns up am I? The kids were smaller then in the back seat and they thought it was hilarious, he hasn’t lived that one down yet.

8 thoughts on “Day 25: would you rather date someone plain with an amazing personality or someone beautiful with a plain personality?

  1. although he does shit me to tears sometimes and causes me moments of intense rage often, I know he’s always got my back, he’d support anything I wanted to do and he does what I tell him to.

    So what does he do to make you so mad? If he always has your back, supports everything you want to do and does what you say, doesn’t that make him perfect? 😉

    And

    all that effort of being nice and shaving your legs and staying out until after 8pm – forget about it.

    LOL! I’ve said the same thing to my kids when they asked me if I wanted to “look for a partner.” I don’t want to have to put on a ton of makeup and dress up and wear heels just for a date. There’s something very freeing about slumping around on the sofa in a t-shirt and sweats, watching movies by yourself at home and munching on whatever treats I feel like fixing for myself—a bowl of popcorn, a microwave pizza, a stack of frosted cookies. No niceties like cocktail napkins or plates or putting out a tray of fancy appetizers to impress the date. It’s just too much work and not much fun for a tired old homemaker like myself.

Leave a Reply

