Day 10: if you could only live off of one food and one beverage for the rest of your life, what would they be?

The food would be potato.

I really do love potato and the added bonus is that if you did have to eat it for the rest of your life you could serve it up with a few variations.  Although if I live for another forty years I think I’m going to be pretty sick of it no matter how creative I become in the preparation department.

You can boil them, bake them or mash them and you can turn them into chips or crisps or rissoles or scallops. You can chop them or leave them whole and you can peel them or leave the skin on.

Marvellous little things really and something I always have in my fridge. I often steam one for lunch and mix it with veg and tuna or chop up a boiled one and cook it with some eggs and veg for brekky.

As for the bevvy, well I’d have to say water which is a bit boring really. I only really drink wine and water and wine just isn’t very practical as your one and only drink for ever – I mean it’s not going to work well when you’re on the treadmill for example and you’d be needing a good milk thistle supplement to keep your liver happy.

I don’t drink soft drink (or fizzy or whatever you call it wherever you live in the world), or cordial (or mix up or whatever you call it wherever you live in the world) and I only have one cup of coffee in the morning.  I don’t think I even really like it, it’s just out of habit and if I’m really really feel like I’m dying sick I like a cup of tea. If we were out of milk it wouldn’t bother me to go without my morning coffee but come time to cook dinner and there’s no wine in the fridge there will be hell to pay.

So spuds and water, aren’t I easily pleased.

37 thoughts on “Day 10: if you could only live off of one food and one beverage for the rest of your life, what would they be?

    • Well really, spaghetti and meatballs is more than one food its one meal but I’ll let you have it. I take things very literally. At least it’s a nice soft meal so you’ll still be able to eat it when your teeth fall out from all the coke drinking. lol.

    • Good choice with the chicken – there are so many different bits to it, breast, thigh, wing, leg. Hydration is always good, if it was only for a short time I’d pick something more extravagent like daiquiri’s.

    • See when you wrote – you wouldn’t like them – I thought you were talking about your two choices of yoghurt and strawberries and you would’ve been right. You and your yoghurt – and drinking it, now thats just gross.

  1. Oh, I love potatoes. I make sure to say so every time I eat them. I’m having potatoes at lunchtime tomorrow, and I’m already excited about it. Yummy.

  2. You and my son. My kid loves it when I bake a potato and serve it up with vegan butter (yes, such a thing exists) and a variety of spices to sprinkle on it—cumin, paprika, red pepper, and this herbal blend/salt substitute called Mrs. Dash. My doctor however said a diet too high in potatoes, white rice, and white bread will speed me to Diabetes Land. Lentils and tofu are my staple, but not my preference.

    Water and wine however—between the morning cup of coffee and a cup of tea after dinner, those are my main beverages. Again the doctor lectures me about my alcohol intake, but good lord, I don’t want to live forever.

    • Lol, as long as my liver keeps passing the blood tests I will keep drinking wine.

      We don’t have Mrs Dash here so I’m not sure what it’s like – will have to ask my sister but I don’t eat butter at all so haven’t had to adventure down the vegan option. Is it soy? I think I used to buy a soy butter for my son when I took him off dairy.

      I don’t eat bread or rice so I feel free to go crazy on potatoes – I like pumpkin and kumara as well but not as much as a plain old spud.

    • Lol – there seems to be a few of us out there. That towel is cool, I need one onmy wall. I don’t eat red meat and I hate it when you go out to eat and they have the poor cow up there with all it’s tasty bits marked out.

  3. Having grown up with a mother who went through the Great Depression and told me all the time that when she was a little girl they ate pinto beans and fried potatoes every day … I don’t even want to think about the bleak prospect of not having a variety.

    I have to ask, is it common to keep potatoes in the refrigerator? We’ve always just kept them in a drawer or bin.

Leave a Reply

