Day 7: do you read? what are your favourite books

Read, read, read – I read every second I can and I always have. I started with Enid Blyton and The Magic Faraway series  and I still think fondly of Moonface, Saucepan Man and Dame Washalot. I then moved onto Trixie Beldon and Nancy Drew but when I was about 12 I decided that Victoria Holt was the way to go before devouring a series of very violent westerns that featured a gun slinger called Edge. We were always allowed to read whatever Mum and Dad read, they didn’t censor or restrict anything.

I’m willing to give any genre a go but I really don’t like chick lit much at all so tend to give it a miss. I like Harry Bosch, Charlie Parker, Tom Thorne and Jackson Brodie and any other tough sort of cop who’s experienced a bit of tragedy and has a disregard for authority and rules.

Having said that another favourite genre is Young Adult, YA dystopia in particular.

I like a book that doesn’t end well – I can’t stand books that wrap everything up nicely in the end.

My favourite character from a book is Almondine – the dog from The Story of Edgar Sawtelle. When I’d finished reading that book I tried to change Betty’s name to Almondine but she wouldn’t be in it. Although Paddington comes a close second – when I was about ten I read a Paddington Bear book which is still the funniest thing I’ve ever read.

8 thoughts on “Day 7: do you read? what are your favourite books

  1. I like reading James Michener. His books are long, and all the way though you’re thinking “I’m gonna put this down, it’s no good” Then when you finish you think “Dang, that was the best book I ever read”.
    I recommend “The Source” and Chesapeake”

    • I think one of the reasons I like YA is because I can whip through them in a couple of sessions – have to be in the mood for long books or I tend to skip bits. I’ll have to see if our Library has those ones you mention and give them a go.

    • Lol, it was so tragic. One of my friends read it and absolutely hated it – she hated all the dog training bits but I loved the dogs. As far as I was concerned it was a love story – between Edgar and Almondine.

    • I always had visions of myself in long dresses, wind swept on the Scottish highlands – I think those were also the days that I thought I was really a gypsy.

  2. This made me laugh. It is funny to see how polar opposite we are in terms of reading. 😆
    Sometimes I wonder if I overdosed as a kid/teenager on all the high quality books that I used to read. Because what’s on my shelf today – as much as I enjoy it – I squirm at the thought what others might conclude by looking at choices in front of them… And then go public.

Leave a Reply

