Weekly photo challenge: my 2012 in pictures

I only need one photo to sum up my 2012.

It’s hard to believe that it’s almost a year since my father died but his death in January really influenced every thing else that happened in 2012. It really was hard to go anywhere, do anything, see something without thinking about him and not always in a sad way.

the-year

December was tough and I felt on edge for most of it, always on the verge of tears over ridiculous things. Last Christmas we had such a good day – Dad was home for the day and he was happy and healthier than he had been for months. That next week we were out shopping for a better scooter so he could get home more often and three weeks after that he was dead.

His grandsons carried him out of the chapel which was nice – he would have liked that.

23 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge: my 2012 in pictures

        • Very sad – that is young. Sad that your kids won’t get to know him as well. A friend of ours had cancer of the eye but they took his eye out and he has been ok. He was in the airforce during the vietnam war and worked a lot on the planes – they think it was the constant reflection of sun off the metal that caused it.

          • I think dad’s probably dated back to the 60s as well. He was outdoors a lot – playing cricket, riding a horse to his country school etc – and don’t think people wore sunglasses much in those days.

  1. {{{hugs}}} to you!
    All the firsts are always the hardest.
    Time does help then some random day you’ll have a happy thought just when you need it.
    Your Father will always be a part of you.

    • I am lucky that I had him around for so long – you and many others lost their fathers at such a young age – terribly sad. Most of the time the memories are happy, I just think it’s Christmas and the thought that he was so well last Christmas and then gone so suddenly. I’ve been quite cranky with him about it at times!

  2. Oh jane, I’m sorry. The first Christmas after the death of a loved one is so hard. I found myself thinking a lot about my mother and the last Christmas we celebrated together. (Though what made me really cry was thinking about my brother’s dog, who had cancer and whom he’d left with us while he went hunting. The poor thing followed my kids around the house and sat outside with them.) Dad seemed very bereft over the holidays as well.

    The memories are hard to bring up right now, but in time, they will be precious. ((Hugs)) for you, dear.

    • Poor old Sandy. I’ve been thinking of Betty lately as well – she died the same day Dad did. I don’t see my family at Christmas time but we all meet at Mums the first week in December and have lunch and of course that was the first time Dad wasn’t there sitting in his chair and it was just sort of sad how everything just goes on without you. That’s the first time I’ve been to Mums and not gone into his bedroom for a roam around either. It was just very final. I was thinking about you and your Mum as well during the festive season, hoping you were doing ok.

    • I know what you mean – time is elusive. We are friends with a family who had a daughter die 15 years ago and it seems like it happened so long ago yet everything about the day is so clear and vivid it seems like yesterday. When I think that she’d be 19 now it’s too hard to wrap my head around the idea.

    • I hope they are as well. I haven’t had a cat now for years, when our last one died he broke my heart so badly I don’t think I could go through it again!

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: My 2012 in Pictures | The Nearest Door

  4. As much as he annoys the living daylights out of me, I am pretty grateful for still having my dad around. Celebrating the big 7-0 next year. Can’t imagine life without both the parentals.
    I hope for you that it’ll get better some day. I remember a friend who lost her father about 10 years ago, she got a phone call in the middle of the night, and it took her ages to lose that feeling of the shock she experienced every time the phone rang late at night after that.

    • I have a phone phobia as well. When my father had his first stroke many years ago I had our phone unplugged because this creepo was stalking me so the family couldn’t get through to let me know so they had to ring my boyfriends mother and she hadto come around and tell me. So now I always have to answer the phone when it rings just in case something has happened to someone.

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: My 2012 In Pictures. | the unbearable lightness of being me.

Leave a Reply

