Another one done and dusted

When life gives you prawns……. make sushi

sushi

You don’t need to be told when it’s Boxing Day in Australia, you just need to walk around the streets and get a whiff of all the rotting prawn heads in the suburban garbage bins. Australians stayed true to the idea of a hot christmas lunch for a long time until the people in charge of the kitchens for the day realised what a ridiculous idea it actually was. So these days most people are happy to serve up some salads with a leg of ham cooked on the bbq, some chicken or turkey and a big platter of cold seafood  served on ice.

That is the people willing to stand in line at the seafood co-op from 5am in the morning. Daz went at 7am on his way to work and said the line was too long so I wandered down at about 10am and I was second in line. Go me. I said to the guy in front of me – it’s better than I thought it would be and he said – it’s better than last year – and I thought – how can it be much better mate, you’re first in the bloody line!

Anyway, you know what prawns are like – peas. You start off with a clothes basket full of them but by the time you finish peeling them you’ve got about enough to make a sandwich. So I figured I’d get enough, which of course didn’t get eaten so today they turned up as sushi. Any left over will go to the dog (aka Chicken Little, lol, she would be highly offended if she knew I called her The Dog).

It’s funny really because Christmas day here was cold and wet and windy and way too cold to eat outside. We could have done with a big roast dinner.

3 thoughts on “Another one done and dusted

  1. My father likes shrimp, as we call it, so we eat far too much of it daily for me to want to eat it on special occasions. Sushi is a good way to serve cooked shrimp, though purists like to boast of eating the raw stuff, which I won’t do. I’ve cleaned and shelled enough shrimp to know what’s inside those little buggers.

    • Lol – my daughter shuddered and called them maggots of the sea when I offered her one the other day. I try not to think about what they might have eaten down at the bottom of the river and they have to be well washed with all the poo tube gone – can’t believe some people eat that! They’re very expensive here so we don’t have them often – can be over $30 a kilo – places have started selling ones from Vietnam and Thailand which are cheaper but I try to support local when I can but sometimes if they’re selling overseas ones for $13 a kilo it’s hard to knock them back.

Leave a Reply

