Daily Prompt: Dear Leader

If your government (local or national) accomplishes one thing in 2013, what would you like that to be?

Make entry into the public swimming pools free – or at least affordable.

I live about 200 metres from an olympic sized pool but I never go because it costs me $4.80 to get in. Mind you I wouldn’t dip my toe in during school holidays, shudder at the thought of all those awful children peeing and spitting in there. If I want to swim I drive ten minutes to the beach and use one of the two enormous ocean baths that are free, parking is free as well but can be hard to find at times. In fact I might go in this afternoon because it is a stiflingly hot day today.

It just seems a little unfair that the people with less money who live out in the hot burbs have to pay $5.00 for a dip while the people who can afford to pay over a million for a house by the sea get to use the ocean baths for free.

Newcastle Ocean Baths

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Dear Leader

  1. I try to go to the beach every day at lunch hour. 11 minutes to get there, 20 minutes getting showered up and dried and dressed and going back to work. That leaves about 29 minutes for snorkeling.

Leave a Reply

