Selling houses and voting

There is a connection.

So, as a few of you know I moved a while ago but I still haven’t officially moved. We still have the previous house and my youngest daughter and a couple of her friends live there so I hadn’t bothered changing my address anywhere because it was just easier leaving it as it was.

Today I had to go back to the old place to vote because we had local government elections here in NSW today and I had to go back there to do it because I’m still listed as living in that area. But it wasn’t a huge drama because we’re selling the old house now and I wanted to go back and see if there was anything in there that I really wanted. I didn’t think there would be because if I’ve managed without it for 18 months why do I need it now (I did find one thing – my pavlova plate; I was looking for it last week when I made Lizzies birthday pav).

The house has been for sale for about a month now and I haven’t had anything to do with the whole business; Daz deals with the real estate and Lizzie and her friends keep the place clean – I’m very good at just getting up and walking away and even after having lived there for twenty years I had no problem leaving it behind.

We’ve had some work done on it in preparation for selling; had the exterior painted, the front verandah stained, fixed up a few things inside and when I pulled up in the driveway I saw that the girls had put big pots on the front verandah with flowering plants in them and new pavers off the front steps and I thought, wow, the place looks really nice. And then I thought, isn’t it funny how we didn’t do those things when we lived in it – we’re making it pretty for someone else but when we lived in it we didn’t worry about the painting that needed doing or the faded verandah. Oh we talked about it for years but just never did it – it just seems crazy now.

It’s been a good old house, it was built in 1905 and we bought it about 22 years ago for $92,000 which just seems like such a small amount these days – you’d hardly be able to buy a caravan for that. We did have to do some work on it though – new kitchen, bathroom and outdoor area but still, it was a bargain. So what I need now is for someone to hurry up and come and buy it please.

I think on Monday morning I’ll start changing my address everywhere (where to start!) because as I drove out of town I thought to myself – I’m ready to move on. Officially.

 

2 thoughts on “Selling houses and voting

  1. And then I thought, isn’t it funny how we didn’t do those things when we lived in it – we’re making it pretty for someone else but when we lived in it we didn’t worry about the painting that needed doing or the faded verandah.

    We have had this same conversation a lot lately. Mr FD completed a couple of jobs that we talked about for almost 10 years! The house looks better than it ever has in many ways, and it will all be for someone else. I guess we will just enjoy it while we can… and then enjoy the next house which someone is no doubt tarting up now!

    Love the new banner.

Leave a Reply

