Happy Fathers Day

Fathers Day in Australia today and as most of you know my father died in January so it’s a bit sad, first one and all.

But even though he’s not here anymore I can still remember what a great father he was. Oh don’t get me wrong, I don’t see him through rose coloured glasses just because he’s gone. I can clearly remember what a difficult man he could be; stubborn, impatient and bad tempered – I can remember more than once having to storm out of the house and take a walk to calm down after having an encounter with him, he could make me so mad. Too much alike my mother says.

But when it came down to it, he was a family man; he loved his family and he worked hard to make sure we had a happy childhood and even though he encouraged us to be independent we always knew he was there if we needed him.

This photo always makes me laugh. It would have been taken on one of our Christmas holidays because thats the only time we went near water. I’m in the red shirt and my sister Min is on the other side. I’m probably worrying about where the life jackets are seeing as how I can’t swim. He gave up smoking many years ago but at one time he never seemed to be without one in his mouth or his hand.

Usually terrible bloody haircuts we had back then.

Happy fathers day Dad – you done good.

8 thoughts on “Happy Fathers Day

  1. What a great picture of you three. The expression on your face makes me chuckle—how can a little girl be so serious?

    Your dad did do good. I’m sorry the day is so painful for you—there just is no substitute for a parent. You can be happily married and surrounded by loving children, but the void left by your father can never be filled. And it’s true, people will say dumb things like, “Well, he was very old after all and lived a full life, you should take comfort in that.” Yes it’s true—my mother lived a full life and I’m happy she’s been released from all the pain of Alzheimer’s and an aging body: but I will never hear her voice again, never be able to listen to her talk about being a teenager in Japan or how her mother made sushi. And yes they can drive you nuts, but in the end, you don’t remember that stuff. It’s only the good things that remain.

    ((Hugs)) for you, jane. I hope with the memories there is also healing.

    • Yes, that was definitely a bad moment – walking out of the room after he had died and knowing I was never going to see him again – very hard.

      I definitely wasn’t having as much fun as they were in that boat!

  2. So many days I read or come across something and think “I must tell dad about that” or worse thinking of something I must ask him and then realizing I will never get an answer.

    Looking at that photo I don’t know how you think you’ll do a cruise. 🙂

    • I do that with music sometimes – hear a song and think he would have liked it.

      I’ll have you know that I went from Circular Quay to Manly on the ferry recently and only felt scared once!

    • Dad’s birthday is coming up in a couple of weeks so that’ll be another first out of the way. Can’t imagine a time when I won’t miss him, sometimes I suprise myself by realising he’s dead, it’s like – oh that’s right.

      • You don’t stop missing them but it gets easier to handle and also you find it less surprising that they’re gone.

        I’m not afraid of large boats but I’d probably have had the same expression as you in that situation. I never went near the water at that age without my inflatable tube around me.

        • I hate being in water where I can’t touch the bottom or the side of something. I want to learn how to swim properly and it’s on my list for this summer.

Leave a Reply

