Think outside the book please

Another Saturday, another assignment. Sigh. Who’d have thought getting a Diploma would require so much hard work!

At least I’ve finished the module – Deliver information, activities and events because that involved planning and making twenty minute presentations which no matter how many times you do is always kind of nerve wracking. I don’t know why people put it off though because I always volunteer to go first. Two reasons – the first being that I just want to get it over and done with and the second being that the teacher always gives the first couple of people a better mark, her reason being that by the time the 15th person does theirs they should have learned from everyone else what they should and shouldn’t be doing.

I also only have one more training session to plan and deliver and then I’m done with that module as well.

So brilliant ideas – send them my way people. This is for Develop and maintain community relationships. Think Outside The Book – it’s a week of activities at the library. I have to come up with four activities for four different groups that we’re going to have. I’m thinking kids for one group as they’re easy – maybe teenagers, we need to get more of them in libraries. What would teenagers like to do? Something for men – they never go to libraries either, what can we plan for a group of men besides putting a sports bar in there – maybe we’ll have a speaker come – a cricket player or something.

Put your thinking caps on people. I’ve got to go and buy a new kettle because mine leaks everywhere and when I get back I want to see lots of ideas for library activities for particular groups – they’ll just go for a two or three hours I guess.

Oh, it doesn’t have to be a group that never goes to a library, it can be anyone.

12 thoughts on “Think outside the book please

  1. At the library branch where I volunteer, we have a Teen Tech Club, where high school kids get together and create podcasts, online videos, digital art, etc. using equipment provided by the library. There’s at least one adult who leads the meetings, partly to teach beginners, partly to supervise. It gets at least a dozen kids per week, more when they’re working on a really popular subject like Photoshop and digital photography. The adults, interestingly, have demanded a similar club or class for themselves, and they probably need it more than the kids, lol. I suppose men would enjoy tech courses and talk as well. We also have a health class series for seniors, and a travel club where retirees and others share their photos and share travel tips. Dunno if that fits what your instructor considers community involvement and outreach, but it’s made our little library very popular.

    • I like the travel club idea – might steal that one and I was thinking something along those lines for teenagers, having them make a podcast. Bloody government should give libraries more money seeing as how they’re expected to provide such a wide range of services. People seem to think library staff just tell people to shhh and shelve books. Health club is a good idea as well – thanks.

  2. What kind of activities do you need to plan? You could appeal to the geeky teenagers who play fantasy roleplaying games like Dungeons and Dragons.. they are more likely to sit inside a library than sports-playing teenagers 😉 (Total stereotype there – I was the D&D playing teenager!) How you would do that.. I don’t know lol

    I have a friend who is thinking of putting together Geneaology workshops for her library, a short session to show oldies in particular how to use internet and other sources to research their family history. That could be an activity?

    • It can be anything we want – as creative or boring as we like. The family history is a good idea although one of my presentations was an introduction to Flickr for seniors and I felt like jumping out the window a few times.
      Lol – its the sports playing ones we need to attract to the libraries!

  3. her reason being that by the time the 15th person does theirs they should have learned from everyone else what they should and shouldn’t be doing.

    It is my experience, that teachers collect the scripts of all assignments on the same day, so that students don’t have the benefit of being later in the line. Not equity at all. I always volunteer first too.

    how about a father and son reading night? Pizza and books in the library, with fathers reading and talking about books they loved at teenagers. Boys love nonfiction. Look at the Guys Read program for ideas too. Worked for us!http://www.guysread.com/. Or get boys to read a book and make a Voki review to share with others http://www.voki.com/ to place on a blog?

    • Voki looks good, I’ve never seen that before, good thinking FD. Father/son night is good as well, they run that at one of the libraries here and I read an article a while back about a programme they run in Australian prisons where men (prisoners) read a book and record it for their children to listen to at home. It’s had some really positive outcomes. Although I guess they can’t really come on day release to my library. I might do a multicultural thing for the fourth.

    • You were in my spam! I think it happens if there are two or more links in a comment – they assume you’re trying to sell something

      • Oh no, my worth has been lowered to spam! I used the Voki for information skills. I made one explaining the task, and then they got to complete some tasks and they made their Voki at the end, explaining the things that were important for an information seeker to know. It gives them carrot to complete the task, and allows creativity, ICT skills, and they give feedback to each other. Simple too. I didn’t speak using my own voice, but there is an aussie accent to speak written text. It’s fun. So are book trailers, if you have access to cameras, though these days they can use their phones to make a booktrailer. The oldies might get a buzz from a Voki too, show off to the young ones!

        • FD, I love Voki! I’m not going to get anything done this afternoon because I’ll be playing about with it instead. So many great uses for it, might do something for ESOL students. The Australian accent is funny.

Leave a Reply

