keeping mobile

Oh wow, I remember when I got that pink phone I thought it was hot stuff. And see that little white one, my friend and I both got one of them at the same time and we thought we were awesome.

When Daz and I were living in Sydney, the company we worked for only had one mobile phone between twenty tradesmen and it was massive. It was bigger than a brick. Massive brick base with the big hand piece on top attached by a long cord. Whoever was on call that weekend took it home with them. Everyone else just had pagers. What a pain in the arse they were. Every time you were paged you had to find a public phone to ring the office to see what they wanted. A lot of the time it was something pathetic that could have waited until you got back to the office anyway. It’s all the girl on the switchboard heard all day – PAGE TONY, PAGE CARLOS, PAGE MARC. And yes, we had a massive switchboard to go with our massive mobile phone. I must say though there’s something fun about operating the switchboard, lots of potential for danger there but if it’s a busy day and you’re on fire, I dunno, just something satisfying about flicking those switches up and down, doing every thing right, putting people where they’re meant to be, being in control of the place.

 

6 thoughts on “keeping mobile

  1. The first one I had was similar to that one on the far right … except it wasn’t pink. I now have a little flip phone, and people act like I’m carrying around an antique.

    My dad bought a used car once that had been set up with a mobile phone by a previous owner. It was one of those brick-like things, and had a receiver in the trunk (boot?) that took up 1/4 of the space. No, it didn’t work. My dad asked me if I thought it could be set up to work, and I just laughed.

    • Lol, bet they thought they were pretty tech savvy when they set that car phone up. Mobile phones have come a long way in quite a short time, hard to imagine I was in my twenties before they were even around.

  2. I predict flip phones will come back as a vintage fashion trend. In the meantime, I’m hanging on to mine. šŸ˜€

    A pot farmer I met on a plane told me that he liked flip phones, because “they” couldn’t track you on those as “they” can with smartphones. I didn’t know this at the time, but you can shut off the app or whatever they call it that allows the phone company and others to know your location.

    I’m surprised you kept all of your phones. Here they encourage you to recycle your old one after you buy a new phone. The state worries you’ll chuck the old one into the trash and it’ll end up in a landfill, where all its toxic chemicals will leak out.

    • Lol, well maybe I should keep these then, they might be worth a fortune one day.

      I’m not too worried about “them” tracking me. I turn off all the location services except for yellow pages and find the loo. I always like to know where the closest public toilet is!

      I’m getting round to getting rid of them, just never remember at the right moment as they’re out of sight usually.

  3. Our old phones either get recycled or donated to charity — even without a plan, a phone can dial emergency services, so charities give them to people who need that.

    • That’s why I have so many, I’ve kept them together to get rid of but I always forget or can’t get there when they have an e waste day. So they just kept growing.

Leave a Reply

