The thing about cats and dogs and other pets we have

The thing about having a cat or a dog or a combination of the two, or even a cow, is that they  always make me laugh.

I can wake up every single morning and know without a doubt that Chicken Little will make me laugh sometime throughout the day, usually more than once actually. Same with Betty when she was alive, same with Carl and Tossy and Pumpy and Big Man and Marnie and Graeme and Billy and every other pet I’ve ever owned. They all just have such quirky little personalities.

I never trust a person who says they don’t like cats because how can you not like a cat. Maybe they are intimidated by the personality of a cat. Maybe they know deep down that cats know they are dickheads. I’ve never met an animal with the same personality as another one. They’re all little individuals.

I think one of the reasons I stopped eating meat was because of a pet steer I had. His name was Brendan and I can’t remember how I ended up with him. Maybe his mother didn’t want him or he became separated from her but I bottle fed him and then he just started following me around. Every afternoon as soon as I got home from school I’d run to the paddock to see him and he’d run around after me and he had a real little personality. And when I thought about him, I couldn’t imagine eating him. He died one day when I was at school – he was bitten by a brown snake. I remember coming home and my brother telling me; I was just devastated, he was such a sweet little guy. I remember running down to the paddock to see him lying there. I’ll have to dig out a photo of him. Alive that is.

Anyway, I’ve been sorting out my photos on the computer and I found these today. Just a few of the wonderful little personalities that I’ve had the pleasure of knowing over the years.

Betty

Blondie (dog) and Thomas

Casey

Chicken Little

Graeme (awwwww)

Pumpy

Pumpy and Big Man

Pumpy and Tossy

Carl (aww, I miss you my big beautiful boy)

Thanks for the memories guys. And why do you guys always want to sleep in such uncomfortable places.

 

 

11 thoughts on “The thing about cats and dogs and other pets we have

  1. Awwwww Graeme’s EARS! He is (was) so cute. Pumpy is still my favorite cat name.
    I think a lot of the people who don’t like cats were scratched by one. I’ve heard a couple people say that. I didn’t like cats too much till I moved back here in 2000 and my upstairs neighbor had 6 of them and they were all so cool. Especially Thomas the orange cat who liked to hang out with me and Elvis in my apartment. He was too sweet for this world, as his owner said.
    I love that one of Pumpy & Tossy!!! Thanks for sharing these pictures, it was a nice way to start my day! (esp. since I have to get off the computer & start cleaning!)

    • lol, she was so cute. I can’t remember why I called her Graeme now but it seemed to suit her. She was such a good dog, she came before Betty and she was fifteen when she died. Her ears stayed prety massive, we always used to say she looked like a bilby.

  2. I LOVE this, and completely agree with your paragraph about not trusting people who say they don’t like cats! Dickheads, indeed! LOL

    • This guy used to come to our house and I don’t think he cared for cats much and our cat Carl would go abd sit really close to him on the lounge but he’d sit up really straight and face the other direction. It was always funny to walk in and see them there like that.

  3. I don’t trust people who don’t like cats either. Especially when they’ve no reason to be that way. I think it shows a basic insecurity in their character.

    You have had some delightful critters! I heartily approve of the marmalade cats, and all of the dog ears.

  4. From my experience – people who say they don’t like cats are people who want to control the living creatures around them, whether they are human or of the animal kind. Almost always they do own dogs.

Leave a Reply

