a call back

I had a blood test last week because I hadn’t had one since 2006 and my doctor just thought he should check various levels of my bits and pieces.

And today I had a call back.

I must admit that my first thought was – liver. But my liver is awesome and is in fact now my favourite body part. What a hardy little organ it is and believe me I have worked it hard at times over the years.

My CA125 is up but that’s always up (that’s like a marker for ovarian cancer). You can have an elevated level just as long as it stays the same. Anyway if you’ve had dodgy ovaries that can affect the reading as well. Things like cysts, endometriosis, heavy periods etc. Believe me, my ovaries have always been dodgy and the level is exactly the same as it was in 2006 when they made me go for ultrasounds, curettes and bloody laparoscopies before telling me there was nothing wrong with me. So saved from all that again.

But the bummer is my cholesterol. Bloody silent killer. I was pretty surprised that it was my cholesterol he wanted to see me about because I don’t eat meat, (haven’t for years now), I don’t eat dairy often and takeaway food very rarely as its all meat based, I don’t like cakes or chocolate and I walk for an hour every day. I even stopped eating all my egg yolks! So it’s just my traitorous body producing too much of it, all of it’s own accord. My level puts me at a greatly increased risk of developing coronary heart disease. Levels above 6.5 mmol/L are considered to indicate extremely high risk and I’m sitting at 6.3. The doctor wasn’t too worried about it because I’m not overweight, I don’t smoke and my blood pressure is excellent. However I still have to take medication for it, probably forever. My father having had a stroke at the age of 52 always makes the doctor a little more cautious about things like that.

So yeah, nothing too drastic but it still sucks that I have to take pills (expensive pills at that) every day. But I can see how people drop dead from heart attacks due to cholesterol without even knowing about it. I would have gone another six years without having a blood test if the doctor hadn’t suggested it because I feel fine and healthy and as I mentioned before I’m pretty healthy compared to most people I know.

Actually that kind of pisses me off. I bet Daz has perfectly fine low cholesterol levels and he lives on chocolate and takeaway and slabs of red meat and ice cream and whatever else he can get his hands on.

But I’ll still be making him go get tested.

Silent killer people – keep an eye on it, it’s sneaky stuff.

Oh I forgot to tell you the good news. These pills I’m taking are supposed to stop you from becoming demented. The What’s New in Alzheimer’s Newsletter states that  “Statin users are less likely to develop Alzheimer’s disease than non-users”. So it’s going to stop me from having a heart attack, a stroke and dementia. That seems a fair trade off.

17 thoughts on “a call back

  1. I have the same problem and have taken tablets for about 5 years now – good to know that dementia benefit. Something has to work in my favour! Best wishes.When I read the title “call back” I thought you were going to tell us about a job

  2. Yeah, it’s weird, it seems like thinner people seem to have higher cholesterol than heavier people. My wacky neighbor, who is thin, just told me hers is like 360! (I don’t know how you measure yours over there but here anything above 200 is warning level). And there’s the good cholesterol and the bad cholesterol. and even if your bad cholesterol is good, if your good cholesterol is bad, then that’s bad. You got that? There will be a quiz later. 😉 And now they say eggs are good for you, even the yolks. They contain the good cholesterol. Ay, yi, yi. There is little sense in reading articles about what to eat and what not to eat, it changes every year anyway. I say, as long as you do everything in moderation, you aren’t going to harm yourself. Some people just have genetically high cholesterol. I’m getting mine checked next week. I first got it checked about 6 or 7 years ago and it was like 240. Then I cut back on some of the junk like ice cream and I’ve been able to keep it at a decent level since. It’s been a couple years though, so I’ll find out soon enough.
    Good luck with the pills. I’m glad I don’t need them, I have my hands full with the dog’s medications, I don’t need my own, I’d probably get them mixed up at some point. But yeah, make sure Daz goes too!!

    • Lol, Betty is practically a junkie these days, she’s always popping pills. I’m terrible at remembering my own though. I always buy multi vitamins but I never remember to take them, even when they’re sitting on the bench, always end up throwing them out when they go out of date.

      Emjay tells me mine is the equivalent of being a 250 reading over there.

  3. Keep taking the pills, they work. My father had two heart attacks and a stent placed in one of his arteries before statins came along. His doctor put him on them as soon as they became available, and now he’s 89 and an energetic pain in the ass, lol. It’s irritating that a study just came out claiming that statins may increase the risk of women getting diabetes. But I’d rather deal with diabetes than a stroke or Alzheimer’s any day, if I had a choice.

    • I’m trying to avoid looking into side effects yet. But if they stop me from having a heart attack, a stroke and dementia I’m willing to give them a go!

  4. The pills really are amazing stuff. If you have to have something wrong with you, it’s good to have something that there’s actually a treatment for. Maybe you can live it up and have an egg yolk now and again.

    • I’ll go wild on the eggs. I’ve tried not to do too much googling on side effects of the pills as I always do that and scare myself from taking them.

    • It seems that my mother is ringing me more and more often to tell me about some condition they have passed on to us. I think glaucoma was the last one.

  5. Take your pills. They help.
    I am thin as a reed, and walk 6 kms everyday..I have borderline cholesterol too. Bloody parents as you rightly say.

Leave a Reply

