resist the urge

As soon as a recipe says to – resist the urge – it’s pretty much guaranteed that I will in fact not be able to resist the urge.

Resist the urge to lift the lid.

Resist the urge to stir the mix.

Resist the urge to open the oven door.

I just can’t do it. I lift. I stir and I open. I’ve even been known to take out  – of the oven only to have to put back in because it wasn’t cooked.

I mean  what if it’s sticking to the bottom? What if there isn’t enough water?? What if it’s already cooked ten minutes before the time of urge is over??? What if my house is about to burn down because of a combination of the above??????

It’s a very confusing time because surely the recipe writer knows, but I just don’t quite trust them.

I think my New Years Resolution this year will be just to give in to the urge and not feel bad about it.

I shall lift, look and stir as much as I want.

 

15 thoughts on “resist the urge

    • Lol, it’s almost like a dare isn’t it. I stand there looking at the saucepan and it’s saying to me – go on, lift the lid, do it, DO IT NOW! But then I’m like – DON’T DO IT – or the dinner will be doomed. But it’s too late because my hand is already on the lid and I’m sort of leaning in, trying to just lift it a teeny weeny tiny bit.

Leave a Reply

