My Mum

I’m not sure how old Mum is here because in some of them she looks like a fifties vixen chick and in the one where she’s sitting down she looks about sixteen. Either way she’s gorgeous and it was probably the mid fifties. You know I spotted Emjay’s daughter in her for a second. I can’t find it now though, looking too hard.  It wasn’t that they look the same it was a look that was the same. Like sometimes I’m doing something and I just know that I’m pulling a face that I’ve seen one of my sisters do.

I wish I had that skirt and those shoes.

16 thoughts on “My Mum

    • I have so many old photo’s! I could spend days at a time looking at all of them. My grandfather was the town photographer, he his own dark room and my mother used to hand paint black and white photo’s he took so we have always been surrounded by photo’s. A couple of years ago I spent months scanning them all into the computer and there were come real treasures there.

  1. Your Mum is gorgeous …
    “May God bless and keep you always,
    May your wishes all come true,
    May you always do for others
    And let others do for you.
    May you build a ladder to the stars
    And climb on every rung,
    May you stay forever young,
    Forever young, forever young,
    May you stay forever young.” (…)
    Bob Dylan, with Joan Baez ‘s voice …
    Have a nice day …

    .

    • I think she was a bit of a party girl from the stories I hear. I guess he blew into town and was a bit mysterious, the young man from overseas.

      I don’t know what he thinks really. I don’t think he does appreciate her enough myself. She is the most gentle, tolerant, kind person you could ever meet (just like her own mother was) and well, he’s not. lol. He does know how lucky he is though, I could see that when he was in hospital earlier this year – but he could show it a bit more I reckon.

    • Well I would have said my grandfather, my mother’s father, at first but I’m not completely sure. My grandfather was a photographer and my mother worked with him hand colouring black and white photos in their studio and they were both most particular about photo’s – not too much empty space, heads not too close to the top, no things in the background etc etc and I noticed in a couple of these her feet were cut off in a couple of shots and there was a lot of space about which made me think maybe my father took them. But then there are shots where she is standing looking at a flower which is classic grandfather stuff. I can’t tell you how many times over the years we had to stand like that looking at a stalk of wheat in the middle of a paddock as if it was the most fascinating thing in the world so he would take a photo for the local paper.

  2. Gad, such chic! And the lipstick – I do covet that shade!

    She looks like she enjoys her life, yet doesn’t take it too seriously; a lovely madcap.

Leave a Reply

