chilli stuffed olives

The chilli garlic stuffed olives I had yesterday were not joking about the chilli part. They took my breath away every time. I do love an olive or ten though.

I have two international girls in my class, Harjinda from India and Fiona from Papua New Guinea. They had never tried olives before. I didn’t start them straight off on the chilli ones mind you. Harjinda is vegetarian and I saw her looking at an olive and she held it up and asked me if it was meat and I said, no, no meat, but it might have a seed. So she popped it in then smiled her huge smile and I said – you don’t like it? and she said, no,  not so much, lol, then Fiona had one and she said it was okay, not bad. So there you go. I wasn’t too surprised that they’d never had an olive before because there was another young australian girl in the class who’d never had an olive either. And who am I to talk anyway, me who’s never had kale or collard greens.

It was funny because Harjinda had made this mushy carrot and sugar dish, I think it had nut in it as well. And it was very delicious but we were all piling it onto savoury rice crackers and she was saying – it’s sweet, it’s sweet and we’d just nod our heads and slap it on another cracker. She probably went home and told her husband about these crazy Australians who eat sweets on tomato and basil rice crackers.

9 thoughts on “chilli stuffed olives

  1. Sharing food is such a great thing. One of the best (and worst) jobs I had was working at a sheet metal fabrication company. They’d make all sorts of things from cabinets to air ducts and I’d go install them wherever. One of the neat things was that the crew that worked in the shop was almost all Romanian, who spoke few words of English. Every day they would bring in stuff for lunch. Someone would bring a loaf of bread, some different side dishes and one would bring the meat. They would sit around the lunch table and take bits from every dish and talk. Very communal, very cool in my opinion. I used to join them for lunch when I was back at the shop and we’d work on their English over lunch. Lots of laughing and mangled words, but some of the best days in memory. Thanks for reminding me of those wonderful days.

    • I’ve seen an ad on tv here promoting a share your lunch Friday day which sounds like a fun idea. Everyone brings a plate of food to share. They need to introduce it at the school I go to because we have a lot of international students there. It would be a real International food fair.

  2. The mushy carrot and sugar dish is an Indian dessert, carrot pudding or halwa. No wonder she was dismayed by your putting it on crackers. It would have been like someone dishing ice cream or rice pudding onto tomato and basil crackers, lol!

    That said—-my older daughter’s mother-in-law made a spicy lentil soup for dinner a couple of months ago, and I dumped it all over my basmati rice, thinking it was dal, Indian curried lentils. I don’t know what she thought of me at that moment: she had the grace not to say anything about it, but when my daughter told me what I had done, I wanted to go to the beach and bury myself in the sand. The poor woman must be worried that next time I’ll start eating the napkins and candles, lol.

    • Hahah – well it was very nice, but it was super sweet, definitely needed those rice crackers to tone it down.

      Oh you just reminded me that I must make some dahl, I love that stuff and this week I’m not going shopping, we’re going to work our way through some of the stuff in the pantry. And there is a huge bag of lentils in there, you can’t buy small packs at the supermarket only these huge ones.

      • The mother-in-law gave me two pounds of red lentils the last time I was at her place—she’s so nice to me, I can’t ever return all the favors. But I have a suspicion she was also trying to get rid of the excess. Like you said, they don’t sell those things in small quantities!

  3. i’ve had olives (don’t like ’em). still haven’t tried kale. don’t think i’ve had collard greens (maybe at a southern restaurant, not sure). only had okra by accident (and actually liked that one – because it was fried instead of however it’s cooked into a repulsive gelatinous mush)

    • Okra, theres another thing I haven’t had. Hang on, going to see if we call it something else. Oh no, we call them okra. I’ve seen them but they never look very appealing.

  4. Not an olive lover, though I will eat them “in” or “on” other food. I would never pop one into my mouth without some sort of force! My sister and Daughter1 are like you, and eat them with great glee. Perhaps a learned like, as is vegemite.

    Speaking of vegemite, have you noticed that they now market “baby vegemite”? I am guessing it has less salt.

    • Lol, I don’t think I’ve ever forced someone to eat an olive. I have them for breakfast which my daughter finds disturbing. Toast spread with tahini topped with kalamata olives. Gets the taste buds ready for the day.

      I have seen the baby mite. I never liked vegemite, we never had it in the house when we were growing up we always had bovril. However, the other day I was looking at the australian avocado website for lunch ideas and I saw they suggested toast spread with vegemtie topped with avocado and I must say it was surprisingly good. The salty of the veg went well with the creamy avo.

Leave a Reply

