livin’ the banana dream

Yep, I’m living the dream.

Eating bananas.

Or as FD would say, I’m spending the kids inheritance on banana’s.

Because over here bananas are gold. Yep, Texas tea.

$13.00 per kilo. $2.57 for one banana.

I usually resist but this week I couldn’t. That’s two bananas in one month.

I love it when you get to the checkout and the checkout girl puts the banana on the scales then looks at you wide eyed and says – that’s $2.57 – do you still want it? Or when I send Kimba off to get me a banana and I say – and make sure you pick the smallest one, then when she comes back I tsk and eye roll and say – are you sure this was the smallest. You’d think we were buying bloody truffles.

But breakfast this morning was well worth it.

A toasted muffin (I don’t know what you call them – and english muffin I think), spread with peanut butter, with sliced banana on top, drizzled with maple syrup.

And I’ve worked out that I can make my banana last for three days!! Happy dance. I haven’t become that desperate yet that I eat the very end slice. Mind you it is getting smaller.

39 thoughts on “livin’ the banana dream

  1. Goodness! I wish I could send you some of mine. When the time is right, all I’ve got to do is climb on the roof and cut the bunch I want.

    Breakfast does look yummy.

    • Jealous! Sigh, I want to go back to Thailand and eat those sweet little bananas. I’d forgotten how good they were. And the pineapple.

    • I don’t even know what Australian youghurt is, I don’t think we have it here but then I don’t eat yoghurt at all. My sister eats it every day, awful plain natural stuff.

    • Nooooo. Well I don’t think we hate peanut butter. But then I hate vegemite so maybe I don’t know anything. I like crunchy peanut butter. I like almond butter as well.

      • You are obviously a woman of great taste and discretion.

        I told Mr. LT about this. He’d just purchased a bunch of bananas at 19 cents each.

        You could probably pay for the cost of a trip to visit Silverchimes by bringing back luggage stuffed with bananas. Buy them green and sell as soon as you get home.

  2. Sounds like the banana rations we have going on in our house! I always buy them small as well. Not one bit of that banana goes to waste. We will all be banana crazy when the price drops back down….whenever that may be!

    • Lol, imagine. It’ll be like when word gets out about a servo selling cheap petrol and they have cars linging up for miles. There’ll be a stampede when word gets out about cheap bananas selling somewhere.

  3. Right, we need a transporter from Silverchime’s roof to Aus.

    I must say that since you and trayflow have been posting about this, I fully appreciate our cheap bananas here. I suppose all that mucking around in Central American politics had one good result.

    You remind me that I always used to eat this same thing for breakfast and haven’t in ages. I’m going to have to go and get some English muffins and start again.

    • I’ve made my banana last three days which was good but I’ll have to wait until next Monday to get another one now. I guess at least you can’t get sick of them this way. It’s to do with the floods they had in Queensland I think. Thats where all our bananas come from.

    • Lol, yes I remember the good old days when you had to come up with ways to use the bananas that sat on the bench until they went brown. Imagine having enough old bananas lying around these days to make a banana cake.

  4. Cyclone Yasi. It destroyed something like 80% of the banana crop. You can still find cheaper ones at some of the markets, etc that have been imported. The large chains made a pact to stand by the Australian growers. This means $$$$ for us.

    • Ahhh because someone told me they saw bananas at Parklea Markets for $2 a kilo and I didn’t believe them – so they would have been imported. Mind you I still might go and get some!

    • How much were they before this? They’re 59c a pound here, which is A$1.23/kilo. It’s nice the chains are standing by the locals; ours always go for the cheapest. We don’t grow bananas in the US anyway.

      If I had small children, I’d probably get the imported ones rather than try to explain hurricanes, budgets, and the global economy.

      Or at least teach them the old song “Yes, We Have No Bananas”.

      • Hmmm, doing my kilos to pounds conversion in my head, and yours still seem a lot cheaper. Ours were about half the price they are now. So still around $7 a kilo. All fruit and veg is expensive here. And they wonder why people eat rubbish instead.

        • Of course if you count up all the military, CIA, political, etc. expense in the banana republics, ours would cost at least that much!

          Bananas are probably the cheapest fruit anyway, esp. in winter.

  5. You know, I’d never last a day where you live. I am a monkey with bananas.
    Thankfully, I live in a country where, if all food were to disappear, banana would still remain !

  6. I explained the cyclone to my 3 year old. She accepted it and moved on. She has a banana or two a week. We were at the Chinese gardens in Sydney and we happened upon a banana tree and she got really upset with me, “I told you there were still bananas, mummy, the storm didn’t take them away!” I then had to explain what most meant and all about cyclones and why there were banana trees in Sydney but not in Queensland….and on and on.

  7. I thought about you today when I bought 5 bananas for .72 cents. They are $1.64 per pound here (Texas). My son was DYING for one and then took only a tiny little bite. I told him Jane would be so disappointed in him. 🙂 (Don’t worry, he’s only 2 and has no idea what I said.) But I am with you on that “end slice”. My sister and I both avoid it. Something about that little black dot that is always there…

  8. Oh, my goodness, I am SO sorry that bananas are so outrageously priced there! I pay 19cents/banana, and it sure is a good thing because I sure do go through a lot of them!

    • They are a great for everything. Meals, snacks, sweets, smoothies. I am missing them. But its funny to think how many we wasted when they were cheaper. There always seemed to be a brown banana sitting on the bench for ages before I threw it away.

      • Bananas are the only fruit (usually) where the regular and organic prices are so close year-round. Local fruit and veg, the prices vary by season of course.

        Aus. needs to encourage more farming, you can’t live on sheep and wine alone.

        Don’t bananas grow fast? Maybe next year you’ll have them again.

        Bananas don’t go to waste here, even at our cheap prices. Mr. LT likes them as soon as they’re yellow all over, whereas I don’t eat them till they freckle. If they start to go brown, I put them in the fridge — they still go brown but they don’t spoil, and I don’t do anything with the peel except throw it away.

        I do eat the whole thing, but I make sure to pop the last bit out from that horrid little spike. Yech.

  9. Oh my. Peanutbutter and banana sandwiches are one of my favoritest things ever. I’ve never put maple syrup on top. I could try that. I probably won’t but I could.

    I’d mail you a banana but I suspect it wouldn’t end well.

    • You should always be open to new ideas Katz. When I was a kid my favourite sandwich was honey and nut – crushed peanuts. You probably wouldn’t be able to have that anymore in case you killed some kid with a peanut allergy. I’m pretty sure peanuts and peanut butter are banned in all preschools here.

  10. I almost bought you some dried banana slices the other day. Not banana chips, with the frying and sugar, but just bananas, sliced the long way and dried, like banana jerky.

    But they cost so much for so little, and then I didn’t even want to think of the postage… it would have come out to more than $2.57/banana.

    I got a prepackaged salad for the husband to take to work for lunch and he did, but didn’t eat it. I told him he had to be sure and eat it the next day, b/c I didn’t want it going to waste. “It cost even more than a banana in Australia!”

    I’m so glad people weren’t allergic to peanuts when I was young. PB&J sandwiches are so good. My brother would have probably passed away from starvation as that’s all he ate for lunch his entire school career.

    • Well thanks for the dried banana thought anyway. Funny you should mention it because I did buy some a couple of weeks ago but they were pretty expensive as well. And they just don’t really do the job when you’re after a real banana.
      Lol, the salad – Mothers the world over will be telling their children to eat their dinner because it cost more than a banana in Australia.

Leave a Reply

