50 questions meme

I saw that Cloudy and Kzinti had done this meme and it looked like a fun one. So here we go, all kinds of things about me that you never wanted to know.

WERE YOU NAMED AFTER ANYONE.

No.  But Jane is a popular name in our family. My sister’s middle name is Jane, her daughters middle name is Jane, my cousins middle name is Jane, my best friends doll was called Jane.  There could be others. Spooky.

WHEN WAS THE LAST TIME YOU CRIED.

Well it wasn’t today which means it was probably yesterday because I cry all the time. Not like sookie lala crying but I’m a very emotional person. Anything to do with my kids will make me cry, I usually cry at parent teacher interviews for no other reason than my childrens names were mentioned.  I cry when I think about our pets dying even when they’re only three months old and in perfect health, I cry in movies and when I’m reading books. And I’m an ugly cryer. I can’t just dab my eye’s and nose with a tissue and it’s all okay. My nose is blocked for about about a day and my eyes get all red and swollen.

DO YOU LIKE YOUR HANDWRITING

OMG, I have the most shocking handwriting in the world. My sister, emjay, and my mother write beautifully and I always admire their envelopes when the turn up in the mailbox. You can hardly read mine. And it hasn’t been a problem for the past twenty years but now I’m back at school and have to do handwritten tests and assessments so I really have to try and keep it legible. And it’s big my writing. You know when you get those credit cards and you have to sign in that box on the back!! I cannot be contained by the box.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE LUNCH MEAT

Dude, I’m vegetarian, I don’t do lunch meat. Chickpeas probably – falafel.

DO YOU HAVE KIDS

Seriously I have the three best kids in the universe. I know everyone thinks their kids are the best but mine really are the best. We have great kids in my family. Emjays kids are awesome and so are my brothers and my other sister Min, she has the sweetest kids. I’m always gobsmacked at family get togethers, how great our kids are.

IF YOU WERE ANOTHER PERSON WOULD YOU BE FRIENDS WITH YOU

Fuck yeah! I am a great friend. Loyal. If I love you I will kick the arse of anyone who hurts you.

DO YOU USE SARCASM A LOT

Who me????

DO YOU STILL HAVE YOUR TONSILS

No, they apparently gave up the fight a few years ago and just went away. When I was 24 years old I started getting tonsilitis all the time when I’d never had it before in my life. It was chronic for about 12 months but then just sort of stopped. But even after that if I was sick or tired my throat always felt sore. Then one day a few years ago I went to a new doctor with a sore throat and he was looking down there and said – you’ve had your tonsils out and I said…. no and he said, well they’re gone. So I guess they just gave up the fight.

WOULD YOU BUNGEE JUMP

I would love to bungee jump. I’ve already been skydiving and I’ve wanted to bungee jump since then. BUT, I have a really dodgy back and I always think that a bungee jump will either feel really great and stretch my spine out, or it’ll really fuck it up. So I haven’t been game to.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE CEREAL

Gagging here! Don’t do cereal.

DO YOU UNTIE YOUR SHOES WHEN YOU TAKE THEM OFF

I have to other wise I’d never get them off. My feet are super skinny and if I want to keep shoes on I have to lace or tie them as tight as possible. I have a foot like a sausage but then I have a massive ankle bone. It’s complicated.

DO YOU THINK YOU ARE STRONG

Yes. Physically and mentally. I used to arm wrestle the boys on the school bus and I could tell by the look in their eyes that they were scared they were going to be beaten by a girl. And a pretty scrawny girl at that. But most of my physical strength comes from my mental strength. Like when I can’t open that jar of Old El Paso salsa and I’m starving and I’ve already had a few goes at it, I just say to myself, stop being such a big frilly blouse and just open the bloody thing – and it works.

WAHT IS YOUR FAVOURITE ICECREAM

I have a fear of dairy. That shit can kill you.

WHAT IS THE FIRST THING YOU NOTICE ABOUT PEOPLE

If they like cats or if they hate cats. There is no logical reason for someone to hate cats, a harmelss little animal. My friend left her husband and found a new man and the first day Daz and I met him, he told us he’d thrown a kitten in a pool. Like, what, is that supposed to impress us?? Dude…..

RED OR PINK

Aren’t they kind of the same. Oh well, pink all the way for me baby.

WHAT IS YOUR LEAST FAVOURITE THING ABOUT YOURSELF

Oh noooo, this is like when you go for a job interview and they ask you what your least desirable character trait is and you have to think of one that you can somehow turn into a positive. Does it sound bad if I don’t have one? I think you need to ask my husband and kids that one – they probably have a list of about a hundred. But I bet they’d all be things that would keep them all alive after a bloody natural disaster.

WHO DO YOU MISS THE MOST

I miss my friend Cath. We were friends for almost twenty years before she found a new man, left her husband and decided the best thing would be to leave everything from that period in her life behind. I feel like I wasted all those years building a friendship that in the end meant nothing to her. But I’m kind of over it now. It’s funny but I was on the treadmill the other day and the Johnny Cash song Cry, Cry, Cry came on and I thought, thats going to be what I’m singing to her one day.

WHAT IS THE PAUL MCKENNA TECHNIQUE THAT YOU NEED TO WORK ON THE MOST

Paul who?

WHAT COLOUR SHOES ARE YOU WEARING

I am wearing white thongs that have diamontes

WHAT WAS THE LAST THING YOU ATE

Well, I stuffed a pitta bread pocket with rice salad, eggplant hummus (no grub included) and avocado

WHAT ARE YOU LISTENING TO RIGHT NOW

The biggest loser

IF YOU WERE A CRAYON WHAT COLOUR WHAT COLOUR WOULD YOU BE

Lol, what a strange question. Purple.

FAVOURITE SMELLS

Well, when my youngest daughter Kimba was a baby she had the sweetest smell you could imagine. And when I used to bath her I’d take her singlet off and press it up to my nose and inhale the scent. And Daz and I always used to say that she had sweet smells. Not wanting to piss off my other kids but when they were babies they always sort of smelled like vomit and shit and sweat and other baby stuff but Kimba just always had this beautiful sweet smell. And even if I can’t remember it exactly that will always be my favourite smell.

WHO WAS THE LAST PERSON YOU TALKED TO ON THE PHONE

That would be my youngest daughter Lizzie. That was this afternoon and I think she may have been slightly drunk. She wanted to know the name of a kids show they watched about fifteen years ago that went for ten minutes every afternoon. There was a lot of noise and laughter in the background. We sorted it out thougH – it was called The Ferals, main characteR Ratus.

MOUNTAIN HIDEAWAY OR BEACH HOUSE

Neither thanks. Beach house – all that sand and damp and mountain hideaway, yeah right what happens when you need a bottle of wine or a litre of milk? Not to mention all the weirdos living up there in the hills waiting to slit your throat while you sleep. I’m urban thanks.

FAVOURITE SPORT TO WATCH

All of them, I love sport. But probably athletics because I was a runner and I’m not great with team sports myself.

HAIR COLOUR

Hard to explain but I found a new hairdresser and she does a great job, people always say to me – your hair is a nice colour. She does foils so the grey grows out and mixes with the blonde and the brown. She does some foils the bleachest bleach she has then does some the blackest black she has and it looks kind of WHOA for a week but them it all just blends together. And I don’t need to have it done all the time, it lasts for months.

EYE COLOUR

Green. If that other question was what do people first notice about you?, it would be my eyes. Not bragging or anything.

DO YOU WEAR CONTACTS

no

FAVOURITE FOOD

sweet potato and avocado – together or alone

SCARY MOVIES OR HAPPY ENDINGS

neither

LAST MOVIE YOU WATCHED

Good lord I don’t even know the name of it but it was a load of crap and I didn’t even finish it even though I tried to watch it twice and now I have to pay a fine for it. They were cops Will Farrel and a Whalberg.

WHAT COLOUR SHIRT ARE YOU WEARING

black singlet

SUMMER OR WINTER

Summer all the way.

HUGS OR KISSES

Please, you obviously don’t know me. Everyone who knows me knows about the Hula Hoop Rule. Everyone must asume that I am wearing a hula hoop all the time and they can’t come within the hula hoop range.

FAVOURITE DESSERT

Don’t do dessert

STRENGTH TRAINING OR CARDIO

Cardio. Love running. I do like strength training as well because I like to feel strong but I have tendonitis in my elbow and shoulder of my right arm at the moment so it rules weights out . But running does keep your arms and tummy in shape anyway.

COMPUTER OR TELEVISION

Love them both. Love to sit in front of the telly with my computer on my lap.

WHAT BOOK ARE YOU READING NOW

Oh, I’m doing the Song of Fire and Ice series at the moment. I’m just about to start the third – A Storm of Swords. I feel bad things are coming.

WHAT IS ON YOUR MOUSE PAD

Don’t have a mouse pad – I have a tablet and pen

FOVOURITE SOUND

Weird! No sound – I hate sound, I hate noise. I have tinnitus and sometimes I just wish I was deaf. Every little noise just seems to clang and bang.

ROLLING STONES OR BEATLES

I’m not that old!!!!

WHAT IS THE FARTHEST YOU HAVE BEEN FROM HOME

Good lord, when you live in Australia everywhere is far from home. Even going to Queensland requires a solid effort.

DO YOU HAVE A SPECIAL TALENT.

No, I don’t think so. But if I could pick one it would be the ability to become clean without having to have a shower. Because they are such a waste of time.

WHERE WERE YOU BORN.

Country NSW Australia

WHERE ARE YOU LIVING NOW

Country NSW Australia

WHAT COLOUR IS YOUR HOUSE

We live in a heritage area so it has to stay the good old cream, with green and dark red trim

WHAT COLOUR IS YOUR CAR

blue – pale

DO YOU LIKE ANSWERING 50 QUESTIONS

Well it started out fun, but then the people asking the questions got sick of it and started asking boring ones. I mean – what colour is your car!!!

14 thoughts on “50 questions meme

    • Lol, Savage Garden 1997, was there something about – I want to stand with you on a mountaintop – or did I make that up.

      I am loving the Ice and Fire series and trying to avoid spoilers but I just wish the Starks could get their shit together! They’re all going to come to a tragic end aren’t they. And their wolves. And I worry about Bran every day. And I see there is a tv series that I’m guessing we haven’t seen here yet.

      I don’t love it quite as much as The Gunslinger though.

      • “I want to stand with you on a mountain, I want to bathe with you in the sea”…. yeah, mostest profoundest lyrics ever. I’d still have their babies though, if one of them wasn’t married to a dude and the other to a Hi-5 bird.

        The worst part of ASOIAF is he hasn’t even finished the series yet, there are still 3 bloody books to go. And I have grave doubts about us ever seeing the HBO series…I’ve resigned myself to buying the DVD collection in 5 years.

        I shall have to check out The Gunslinger – haven’t had a lot of reading time since I stopped catching public transport around.

        • Lol, I want to bathe with you in the sea?? thats just wrong.

          I do love coming into a series once it’s well underway so I don’t have to wait all those years for new books to come out, it kills me having to wait. I’ve been reading a YA series called The Maze Runner and I’ve just about gone mad waiting for number three.

    • Lol, I’m in awe of the pretty cryer. There they are bawling, then they just dab their eyes with a tissue and off they go to be a supermodel or something. And it seems to me that the quieter and more repressed I try to make my crying, the worse I look. One of the funniest time was years ago I took my daughter to see the movie Spirit, it was about horses, a cartoon, and when it ended and the lights came on I was a bloody hysterical wreck. My daughter who was about 9 at the time just looked at me like….. WTF?? We had to go and do grocery shopping afterwards and people were looking at me with great pity assuming something tragic had happened.

    • Ha – kids, they just want to hang on you or lie on you or sit on you all the time. But even standing in lines at the post office or wherever, I can’t stand anyone being too close behind me, I can just feel them there. shudder.

  1. I think the ugly crying and the hula hoop rule are genetic. I’ve found that my hoop is getting bigger as I age and I don’t read or watch anything sad/tragic/emotional on a “school” night – makes for a terrible face going off to work the next day.

Leave a Reply

