a travelling man

My twenty year old son Lloyd has gone travelling again.

He came to me last year and said

I’m going overseas again next year. I’m tossing up between Mexico and South Africa.

Why’s that I said, couldn’t you think of anywhere in the world more dangerous.

So it’s off to South Africa. He’d be just about leaving Sydney now. When he went to Europe and the US he went alone but this time he’s going with a friend. A friend who has yet to go overseas without spending time in hospital. They will spend two weeks doing volunteer work in one of the conservation parks over there then they have two weeks just………………

That part all seems very disorganised to me. It seems to just involve going with the flow.

He has his great grandfathers travel bug. That’s Papa on the left, already has his camera out.

Those were the days, when people dressed to travel.

And to see them off.

Bon voyage to Lloyd. I’m throwing streamers in my mind to wish him a fantastic trip. Stay out of the path of any cranky hippo’s. I know we seem to have all the deadliest creatures here in Australia but at least most of them are small. If you see them in time you can smash them with a shoe or a shovel.

He’ll be 21 when he gets home.

24 thoughts on “a travelling man

    • Thanks and to you as well. I love those photo’s as well. Mum took the ones from the shore.

      I finished the book. God, what an exhausting disease. Every second of her life was spent planning it. There were bits that made me laugh though – like when the australian cafe owner made her the eggs and she wrote – I got up from the table to end this awkward interaction where I was force-fed and called a skinny weirdo. And then all the thought that went into how she could get out of eating them.

      • the every minute of every day part was what made me realize that, for those few months, i was acting anorexic. i obsessed over every calorie i ate and how i would take them back off. i’ve said that’s part of why i couldn’t maintain my weight loss – it took too much time. but i never did laps of my 7-story apt! or refused free eggs!

        • I gave up counting calories because I’m a bit of a control freak with a dash of OCD and I just became way too involved in it all. I downloaded software onto my palm and I’d count and calculate every bit of food and exercise and I could just see it getting out of control. It’s the same reason I gave up wearing a pedometer. If I hadn’t done my 10,000 steps at the end of the day I’d find myself up in the garage skipping rope to get there. Then I started thinking – I should do 15,000 steps instead. So I tossed it as well.

  1. I cringe every time my kid announces he’s undertaking another hare-brained adventure, but I figure this is this the age where he should be out seeking new things. (I am glad he passed up on a climb with a buddy up Mt. Hood. The buddy disappeared and to this day they haven’t found him.)

    Your son is a good-looking kid, and he probably has charm and a guardian angel following him. And volunteering to help at a nature conservatory? He also has heart. Those ought to help protect him. Though maybe hippos don’t care about those things. Good luck to him, and a happy new year to you and your family.

  2. Happy trails to the AdventureMan! I have a flock of relatives in South Africa. I don’t know any of them but we share some genes. If he runs into an Elk, it’s likely one of mine. And they may be slightly less dangerous than the hippos. Not that I can swear to that.

    Mums are so much braver than their kids.

    • Ahh, the Elk’s of Africa – they sound a dangerous breed. Actually I was very good when I said goodbye. I didn’t tell him not to do anything. Probably because he’d just told me he was doing the worlds highest bungee jump while he was there. 216 metres. Nothing seemed very dangerous after that.

    • Well he’s made it there so that’s the first part out of the way. Like everywhere else in the world it’s a long flight from Australia. Even the other side of Australia is a long flight from Australia. A friend of his has gone to Mexico, something to do with her University course. Which is diet and nutrition so I’m not sure where or what she’d be doing. Lloyd is doing environmental sciences so he wanted to go and do something relevant. Guess Mexico didn’t have any conservation parks happening.

    • Aww, he’s lovely. Really, everyone loves him. My daughters call him the golden child. I’m always meeting people and when they hear I’m Lloyd’s mum they say – oh, we love Lloyd, he’s such a nice boy. The last time it happened I said to Daz – it’s going to be funny the day we meet someone and they say – man, I can’t stand your son, he is such an arsehole.

      I’m trying to give up worrying about things I have no control over, such as my children. I find it easier to not worry about him when he’s on the other side of the world than it is when he’s out for a night here in town. It’s like it’s so far away that it’s totally out of my control. Having said all that though I will worry for the next month!

  3. I read this the other day when I wasn’t commenting and forgot to come back to it.
    When I read the title I thought, oh, how exciting! and then read his choices and thought, oh GEEEEEZ! Both are beautiful but dangerous. I think he probably made the right choice, right now anyway. I hope he has a great time and a very safe trip.

    • I don’t know much about Mexico. All I ever seem to hear is gangs, drugs, murder. But then thats pretty much what I hear about South Africa as well. But is has more interesting animals. And huge sharks! Everyone thinks we have huge sharks here but they look pretty massive over there. And to think I was worried a couple of years ago when he headed off to the Austin music festival.

      • The border towns of Mexico are really bad. But even in the resort areas, stuff happens to tourists and the government tries to cover it up because it’s a major source of revenue. it’s lovely there and the culture is great but the government is really corrupt and the whole place is screwy. I know SA is not exactly safe either, I don’t know how it compares to Mexico though. LOL @ being worried about him going to Austin!

  4. The only difference between then and now is then travelling might involve weeks, especially on a boat. Now we fly about everywhere within 24 hours.
    I think it’s fantastic that you let your son go out and about like this without making a bit fuss about it. (or at least it seems so to us readers ;)…) I know more then enough parents that are so overprotective that it is a pain in the….
    If I would tell my parents today that I would do a thing like that – my mum would go mental.

    • When my grandparents travelled in 1957 it was epic. With Australia being so far from anywhere it was a big trip by boat.

      Nah, I’m not a fusser. My parents weren’t fussers either. We just did our own thing. That’s not to say that I don’t worry. But I don’t worry in front of him.

Leave a Reply

