Hairy rocks, ocean baths and a pelican.

Like I said, we were in Newcastle on the weekend. Or Newie as we call it here. Here in Australia we like to take every opportunity to shorten a word or name then add an ie to the end. Anyway on Sunday morning we got up early and went for a walk on the beach.

We saw crusty rocks.

crusty rocks

And hairy rocks

hairy rocks

And nature’s own little perfect fishbowl’s scattered all about the rocks. When I was a kid and we went on beach holidays, I always really enjoyed climbing and exploring the rock pools.

the perfect fishbowl

This pelican was hanging out with some seagulls. Maybe looking in the rock pools for some breakfast. You can see a few surfers behind him and then the ships lined up on the horizon. They’re waiting to come in and load up with coal.

breakfast time

There is a lovely ocean baths there that I hope to spend a lot of time in. Because it’s not too deep and hopefully no sharks have washed in over the side and there are no rips to drown you. So it’s like being in the ocean, but safer. Who knows, maybe I’ll even go to swimming lessons and learn how to swim next year.

newcastle ocean baths

And they have this fantastic fenced in ocean pool for the kiddies. It’s massive but it’s really shallow.

kiddies pool

It’s a rock wall with these really old posts and chain around it. You can let the kids go wild without having to worry about them being washed away.

more kiddies pool

Don’t worry about Daz’s leg. He burnt himself and he’s just trying to get attention with that big bandage.

 

Sigh, wish I was there now. Not long now.

22 thoughts on “Hairy rocks, ocean baths and a pelican.

  1. So where’s the fish? 😀

    Every ocean should have a bath like that. Because no matter how much I love the ocean – I hate jelly fish. They always manage to drive me out of the water and back on the beach.

    • Lol – that’s what I said to Daz. They’re nice little fishbowl’s but you’re kind of at the mercy of the tides. You only get to live there until you get washed out again.

      I only saw one jelly fish that morning. I don’t like to be out in the ocean where I can’t touch the bottom, or where the bit I can touch is covered in seaweed.

      • Yuk or any other sort of algae. But at least those I learned how to ignore without screaming like a little girl and racing back to safe ground. The jelly fish – not so much …

        Well I think it is a wise thing to not challenge the ocean if you can’t swim (good enough). I can, have had years of practice as a kid but I still have the greatest respect for those bodies of water.

    • They’re usually surrounded by really slippery dangerous rocks that are easy to slip off straight into the pool. But this pool isn’t very deep. Although I am very short. But I saw people walking in it and it was only around their shoulders. When I was little I always used to worry that a shark had been washed over the side during a high tide and was lurking around in there somewhere. But, I am definitely looking forward to using it often. And they have a cafe right there as well that opens at 7am so you can have a coffee or whatever.

    • Thanks. I love the pool as well. Maybe I’ll become on of those crazy people who go and swim in the ocean baths in the middle of winter. There’s a group in Sydney called The Icebergs (I think).

  2. Having swimming pools next to the beach is a good idea, though they closed most of the public ones here in California. I think they thought it was silly when most people want to get into the ocean; but out here the water is brutally cold, even in the summer (we get the current straight out of the Arctic), and the undertow is often too dangerous for even experienced swimmers. Every summer there’s at least one news story about a child drowning at the beach: a warm, shallow pool thus seems like a sensible thing to have next to the ocean.

    And the photos of the barnacles and seaweed remind me of the smell of ocean air. How I wish it was warm enough to walk by the beach now. Enjoy your summer.

    • Oh I love the smell of the ocean air. And how you feel salty.

      Yes we have a lot of drownings here each summer as well. Mainly tourists, they don’t seem to realise how dangerous the water is. I’m a big believer of swimming on patrolled beaches and only between the flags.

  3. What cool rocks! And I don’t think I’ve ever seen an ocean side pool like that. I’d probably like that better than being in the ocean. I don’t like being where I can’t touch and can’t see what might be lurking around below.

Leave a Reply

