How do you say Papa?

That’s it. I just want to know you lovely people from the USA (and anywhere else) would say Papa. As in Papa my grandfather.

See here we pronounce it Par-Par. Each syllable evenly stressed. lol but without the hard r sounding. But then I thought other people might say it Pap-a or I don’t know, Pa-par.Ā  So I need to know how people would pronounce it please.

Like Sailor Babo for example. See I always thought he was Bab-o but it turns out he’s more of a Bay-bo.

I was on a train once, years ago, going to work in Sydney and a group of older americans were sitting across from me and this big guy said to me – Whats the next station? And I said Artarmon. And I pronounced it Are-tar-mon. And he cracked up laughing at me and turned to his cronies and said – did you hear that? And then he mimicked me but he really dragged it out. Like Arrrrr-tarrrrr-mon. And I just thought, well I won’t repeat what I thought.

So, Papa. Spell it out please

28 thoughts on “How do you say Papa?

  1. “Pah-pah.” The ‘a’ is short. Two distinct syllables, no ‘r’ sound between them.

    And I’ve been pronouncing Sailor Babo as “Bob-bo.” So it’s Bay-bo? Hum!

    But those Americans were assholes. I would have whacked them with my bookbag if they laughed at my pronunciation. Especially since you were helping them.

  2. I called my grandfather Granddad or Grandpa. (“GRAN’pah”)

    My son calls my dad Grandpa. (same as above)

    My niece and nephew call my dad Grandpa or Boppa (“BAH-pah”) (which I think is just a variation on the pronunciation of Papa around here).

    Fun post! šŸ™‚

    • We have Grandad here. See spell check doesn’t like grandad, I thought it was because I didn’t have a capital but it’s not. But say you were going to say Papa to someone. Like Jane’s Papa took some really good photo’s, how would you pronounce it.

      • paw-paw / pah-pah / pa-pa

        to keep thing interesting, “Papi” (paw-pee) is spanish for daddy and is commonly used in a “dirty talk” context… “ayeee… papi!”

    • Thats interesting. Yet confusing. Could lead to some interesting conversations for someone like me who didn’t know what they were talking about. Papa seems funny to me for a baby. I’m picturing a little old man baby.

  3. POPpa

    and it’s Sailor “Bobbo” not “Babe-O”. I have a Sailor Bob O. He’s very angry and he doesn’t like Montreal drivers. And we spent a weekend with Homey, M—–l and Babo!

    • I just went back to M—–l’s post and listened to his video. I’m pretty sure he said “Bobbo.” (The speakers on my laptop suck, so sometimes I don’t pick up on stuff on the first listen.)

      I think we can conclude that depending on the region you live in, “papa” has a lot of different pronunciations. Here in Cali I never hear the word used unless I’m talking to a Latino person. Otherwise it’s usually “dad,” “granddad,” “daddy”….

    • Oops, sorry Bobbo. Lol although to me he’ll always be Bab-o. Why isn’t he just spelled Bobbo then. It’s all very confusing. He’s a real everywhere man isn’t he. Hope I get to meet him while he’s here.

      • I think Bab-o is less of an egregious error than Bay-bo! šŸ˜›
        It would be nice if he could spend more time in Oz, with you and Betty et al. I would love to see what kind of adventures he’d go on with you!

  4. GRAM-paw (which sounds like a measurement when you think about it) or GRAM-pah

    PawPaw is very popular here in TexasWorld. And MeeMaw for grandmother which doesn’t make sense. It should either be PawPaw and MawMaw or PeePaw and MeeMaw, don’t you think?

    • PeePaw or PawPaw or MawMaw or MeeMaw – they all sound a bit strange to me. We keep it very basic here. Pop or Poppy or Grandad or Pa, thats about it for grandfathers names.

  5. I called my maternal grandfather Papa (and grandmother Nana). I pronounced it pah-pah with a very slight emphasis on the first syllable. And Nana was nan-ah, with an emphasis on the first syllable.

    • This is all good news. I just wanted to make sure that if I tried to sell some of Papa’s photos as Papa’s Slidebox that people would be saying it right.

Leave a Reply

