hot soup and cold dogs

It is absolutely bloody freezing here today. And windy as well. I've just hung the washing and my fingers are cold and numb. And there's not a child around for me to find and put my hands under their shirt. Because thats always fun. And now I have to go for a walk down the street as I don't have a car. I'm wishing now I'd saved some of the tomato and lentil soup I made the other day to have when I get home. It was so good though I ate it to the point of exploding.

 

 

I was home alone so I ate soup and watched Gladiators. Anyway, one of the reasons I'm walking in the freezing wind to the shops is to buy Betty a water bottle. Daz saw something on television last week and they suggested buying old dogs water bottles to put in their beds at night to help keep warm. And I thought that was a good idea and can't believe I didn't think of that myself. Why do we never think of those simple fantastic ideas?

Betty says – hi, I'm cold, why the hell don't you idiots get me a hot water bottle!!

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

24 thoughts on “hot soup and cold dogs

  1. Cold in Sydney atm too. We have been heating up one of those wheat bags for our old dog Mollie to have in her bed at night. It actually stays warm all night. This morning she didn't want to get out of bed so I took the wheat bag out and re-heated it and put it back before going to work this morning.
    Soup looks yum. Do you have a recipe you could post?

  2. I don't like tomatoes, but tomato soup is a different matter. And that soup of yours looks delightful. I bet it was blistering hot and marvelous. Am I right?

  3. lol – I remember you don't like tomatoes, I only like them hot or in sauce. You are spot on – it was delicious and I did burn the roof of my mouth eating it.

  4. I think I have a recipe, I'll have a look, I tend to make a recipe then throw it away, we never eat the same thing twice – I'm still trying to find the muffin recipe.
    Would the wheat bag stay warm longer than a hot water bottle?

  5. Or just a rough idea of ingredients would be good, ie, apart from tomatoes and lentils (although would be good to know if canned lentils okay as my husband went out and bought a ton of these for some reason).
    I think the wheat bag would stay warm longer if in constant contact with a warm body.

  6. lol – do you mean soup smells better than dogs – old men smell better than old dogs – or hot water bottles smell better than wheat bags.

  7. lol – well actually I was hoping you didn't see that. I wonder if that still holds true for old men that have been eating lentils.

  8. LOL yeah Snowy is right….I was dying earlier, 6C….brrrrrrr. I went out a couple of hours ago and it was so icy feeling, can't cope! Not going to be much better tomorrow, they say it will be 19 but then today was meant to be 17 but the apparent temp was only 11C…feel like I'm back in Victoria all of a sudden!Betty looks great for an older girl…how old is she? I bet she loves the water bottle.

  9. I hate winter. I'm a real summer girl.
    Betty isn't that old (I don't think) – she's almost 9. My dog before her – Graeme – lived until she was 15 so 9 seems like a baby. But she has very stiff back legs and I don't think her breed lives that long.
    She hasn't tried the water bottle yet – but she'll love it, she loves all the comforts.

  10. Yeah summer is nice, though I do prefer the cooler months, just that this winter so far is just too cold and almost reminds me of down south. I was in Adelaide in early April and they had a cold snap…that's what it feels like here at the moment, cold through to the bones. 9 isn't too bad for a dog, still a youngen, but always nice to hear of a spoiled girl lol

  11. lol – do you mean soup smells better than dogs – old men smell better than old dogs – or hot water bottles smell better than wheat bags.
    I was referring to soup smelling better than dogs. lol

  12. Betty is so damn adorable. She belongs on a T-shirt!!! 'Cold dog Betty' or Hot dog Betty…or tweek a word from the song.."when I say I love you, you say you Betty, you Betty you Betty you bet"

  13. Aww…Betty looks like the sweetest.
    Anyone wanna trade the cold weather? I'm in 36C weather with unbelievable humidity.
    Grah…36C. That's more appropriate for bra sizes. (Pardon me, I'm stuck in the land of Fahrenheit.)

  14. And there's not a child around for me to find and put my hands under their shirt. Because thats always fun.
    …and here I was thinking I was a bad parent for doing that to a 21 mth old occasionally. He's so snuggly though. Minus 5 in Canberra last night, but at least the wind has eased up for the weekend and it's sunny.

  15. lol – 21 months – thats mean, he can't even defend himself. It was 0 here this morning but yes, at least that awful wind has gone. Looks pretty good outside now.

Leave a Reply

