Those Magnificent Men in Their Flying Machines

I'm usually in bed every night at 9pm. I don't watch much tv.

So the only thing that annoys me more than the tv station changing one of my shows to a starting time of 10.30pm, is them making it sound that doing so is a lovely experience for me.

Is this the only house in australia that watches Lost anymore? Are there so few people watching it now that it has to start at 10.30pm. Remember the good old days when it used to start at 8.30pm?

But it's the way they announce it as being at A Special New Time that pisses me off.

It's very special. Thats why I'm sitting here at 9.17pm eating chocolate and drinking coffee, with over two hours ahead of me before I hit the pillow.

I know, I know, I could tape it. But I never seem to go back and watch anything I tape. If I don't watch it, I don't see it.

So I'm filling some time. (What did we do before the internet.) And I found this.

These are plans someone drew in 1670 for a flying machine. I'm just not sure about it. I can't imagine ever really feeling optimistic that this was ever going to work

 

But I hope the guy who drew this is up there now looking at all our flying machines. I think he'd get a real kick out of them

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

14 thoughts on “Those Magnificent Men in Their Flying Machines

  1. lol, then I'd feel like Homer Simpson.
    I have the same problem, I lie in bed with my heart pumping if I drink coffee after dinner but I need it to keep me awake until 11.30 tonight.

  2. Homer! The father of Bart my idol :DBut you eat chocolate and not donuts. That would make you a Marge, maybe 🙂 Or the sweet and smart Lisa.Happy waiting and watching then Cat 🙂

  3. lol – now that would really piss me off. Sometimes I try and have a nap at 7.30 to prepare but it never works. It's a bit like trying to sleep when you know santa is coming. (In a lesser way)

  4. I go to bed at 8 p.m. nearly every night of the week. I read for about 1 1/2 hours and then fall asleep. There are no tv shows that I'm interested in at this time. I'm not sure how that happened. I used to watch tv.
    The flying machine looks like a sea plane. I love your writing. You make me giggle when I read you.

  5. LOL my best friend's brother said that Vivi (my best friend) and I would be Patty and Selma in few years as we gossip and we smoke ciggies together. Hehe.

  6. This is what they made TiVo's for …. I record nearly everything and then have a party for one where I sit and watch multiple episodes of shows. Since we've had the house I watch much less tv – it was so easy to do when everything was in the one room!!!

  7. I never get back to watch tapd things – and I can't sit and watch a few episodes, I can hardly stand to sit and watch a movie

  8. Reading is good. I think I read somewhere that the steel balls supporting the gondola where to be filled with steam. Maybe he read somewhere that a heavier than air vehicle would need to be able to rise above the ground. Good thing he didn't read Martha Stewart. Could you imagine how ridiculious a contraption like this would be were it filled with yeast?

Leave a Reply

