silence of the lambs

My father was a sheep farmer. So although I don't eat lamb now I ate great quantities of it as a kid. And one of my favourite days of the week was the day he killed the lamb. Now don't get the wrong idea here. Don't picture sweet baby lambs gambolling about the paddock. Picture more of a teenager. And who hasn't wanted to kill one of them every now and then.

So us four kids would arrive home from school and race down to the sheep yards where we would watch my father climb the fence, pick a tasty one, straddle it's back and cut it's throat.

Then he'd hoist it up on a hook by it's back legs and skin it. He was good at that, getting it all off in one piece.

And we'd all stand there with little bowls to get all the bits and pieces. Brains, liver, kidneys, heart. Nothing was wasted. The intestines and stomach bag would be taken to the chooks and the head would go to one of the dogs. Looking back now I didn't see anything unusual about carrying around a sheeps head and throwing it to a dog. You know sheep have lovely soft ears.

Then the carcass would hang about for a day or two in a shed until it was cut up. I wouldn't even be able to estimate the number of lamb chops I ate over those years. I considered a roast chook a real treat.

This is one of our pet sheep. He ended up on the dinner table by accident. My father had done the jump, choose, straddle, cut thing before he felt the collar. But it's not as if he was going to bury it once he made the discovery so the slicing and dicing went on as usual. We weren't told of course so ate Barney happily enough. My mother says she refused to eat him.

 

He wasn't really much of a pet. You'd have to scan the paddock he was in before you entered, make sure he wasn't in sight then run like hell. Because if he saw you he'd run at you with his head down and ram you. Thats why he was called Bunting Barney. Still, he's kind of cute.

Anyway I'm off the lamb now. Find it hard to eat anything that can look at me with lovely intelligent eyes like that. So these days you're likely to find me eating something like this spinach fetta pide I made for Lizzie and I to eat while the others eat their lamb pie. You know, you just can't beat home made bread.

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

16 thoughts on “silence of the lambs

  1. Ooh can we have a recipe? The pide looks divine.
    Sheep, on the other hand, even baby sheep, have never been on my menu. Can't stand the taste.

  2. This brought back memories. We visited husband's uncle on a property near Moree and as it was Easter I took choc eggs in a cooler for the children which we put in the freezer room they had. I went to retrieve for the big morning only to find that uncle had killed a kangaroo to feed the dogs and the carcase was hanging right over our cooler and still dripping blood…. The things mother's do….

  3. Well you need some kind a basic pizza dough to start with. Then melt some butter in a pan and add a bunch of spainach and 2 garlic cloves and stir it until the spinach wilts. Then put it in a bowl and add 4 green onions sliced, 250g ricotta, 100g fetta cumbled, 1/2 cup pine nuts and 1/2 cup breadcrumbs – fresh. Mix it all up and spread it over your rolled out dough. Then bake it at hot for 25 minutes.
    I put chilli sauce on top of the dough. And because we were having it as more of a pizza I put some grated cheese on top. lol – all that cheese!
    I used a pack of frozen spinach this time – do you need a good pizza dough recipe?

  4. Is that really what happened to Barney? I used to run home with the brains in a bowl for mum to dredge in flour and fry. Hope this is not going to lead to some nasty illness soon!

  5. lol – why would you get an illness from brains – weird people eat them all the time.
    This is what I heard happened to Barney.

  6. this one is excellent – it makes two pizzas – three if you roll it thin.
    Combine
    1 teaspoon sugar, 1 teaspoon salt, 2 x 7g sachets of yeast, 2 cups of warm water and 1/4 cup olive oil in a bowl and give it a whisk. Stand in a warn spot for 10 minutes or until it goes foamy on top.
    Sift 5 1/2 cups plain flour in a bowl and pour in the yeast mix and mix well, then knead on floured surface until smooth.
    Thats it. You don't have to knead it for hours either, just until it comes together. I use it to make bread rolls as well. It's a handy recipe.

  7. I think it has been suggested that Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease comes from eating cows brains and there was something I saw a couple of years ago about a tribe of New Guinea people (New Guineans?) who went mad and they think it was from eating other human brains.

Leave a Reply

