the travelling tiles

It's funny how you make something, then someone buys it. Because when I make a tile, the idea has rolled around in my head and I don't know what other people will think of it. And it surprises me sometimes which ones people buy.

I was thinking this because I hadn't heard from the lovely perth lady who bought 20 tiles and I thought she must have opened the box and thought what an absolute load of crap they were. Turns out though that they took 8 days to cross Australia. My sister sent me a camera from the US and that only took 8 days.

So she did get them and she loved them and she said I was a genius. I think this was meant in relation to my packing skills though. Newspaper, bubble wrap and a roll of packing tape are no match for me.

And I had to make sure they were secure because Australia Post don't offer a fragile service. I said to the guy

So why do those people put fragile stickers on their parcels. And he said

It makes them feel better.

So in the end it all comes down to your packing. But I thought surely, surely, if I write fragile on a box then the postman/mail sorter/packing people would take a little care with it. Just out of common courtesy. I know I would. Or would it turn them the other way I wonder. Would they think – sucker and maybe kick it around the mail room a bit before sending it on it's way.

Some more are on their way to Melbourne today and I'm pleased to say one of them is Papa's moulin rogue/charlton heston photo. I think he'd be thrilled to know that.

Anyway I just finished this for a friend and it's pretty cute – used old tattoo stencils for it. Oh look, I've resized it too much so it's a bit fuzzy.

And these look so nice. The colours look a bit grubby here but they look much nicer in real life. You can read the writing clearly as well. I did these as 4 x 4 inch. I like how the Elso corset is thotoughly conducive to health.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

13 thoughts on “the travelling tiles

  1. Mmm – maybe I want a set of these tiles …. ! I am also a really good packer. I got all Nan's china cups over here as well as some crystal and other china and my childhood Peter Rabbit collection – all in the mail and all without breaking anything. The only thing which had a chip was a Boda vase which hadn't cost much to begin with! No fragile stickers then either!

  2. ok – thats funny you like the picnic basket – took me ages, couldn't find a colour I liked for the background, changed it many times.

  3. They should put a warning on the fragile stickers you can buy that they don't mean a thing. I figured tiles are fairly hardy though. They arrive at building sites on pallets with no protection.

Leave a Reply

