the train is a comin off the tracks

Do you ever get the feeling that you're not where you're meant to be?

And I don't mean like when you're sitting on the bus thinking you're on your way to Parramatta, only to discover you're actually on your way to Hurstville.

I mean like you're going along, living your life, happily enough, then all of a sudden it's just not working for you anymore. Well thats happened to me. We moved here 18 years ago and got caught up with work and raising kids and then starting a business and everything was good. But now it's not. It's as if I've finished with this place. There's nothing here for me anymore. I'M OVER IT.

I think it's because Kimba and Lloyd are ready to move on and Lizzie only has a couple of years school left. And when she's finished it seems as if this place will have done it's job. Once she's finished and moved on, the chapter on this era will be finished. And it's not like I'll look back and think – god I hated living there. It's just done what it was meant to do. We'll be moving on.

I get happy butterflies in my tummy when I think about it. And I know two years seems like a long time, but time always flies by when you have something to look forward to.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

12 thoughts on “the train is a comin off the tracks

  1. Only now??? I feel like that when I wake up everyday! Seriously, you're probably onto a happier period in your life. No more worries about the "kids", finances are likely to be good and your tummy's always full of good tucker. It's all good, Cat. Enjoy!

  2. I feel exactly that way now. Jess will be going to college this fall. Is that what this could be? I want my husband to think about practicing law somewhere else or maybe even doing something else so we can be SOMEWHERE ELSE. But the few things that keep me here are so dear. You have given me something to think about 🙂

  3. It's a strange feeling. Because I've been perfectly happy here for all these years but now there's just this itch to do something else. And when you look at the things that are dear to you are they real things or just memories that are part of all the good times you have had where you are. I'd hate to get to the end of my life and think – wow, I wish we had of done that. I think it is something to do with your kids leaving. You get so caught up in their lives as they are growing then all of a sudden they are gone. And I think then you make the choice – ok, do I let them go off and live their life and we go off and have a new adventure as well, or do we stay here and cling to all those old memories. I say go for it.

Leave a Reply

