Germ Freaks Unite

Ninja sent me an article a while ago. It was about people who have a fear of pooing in public toilets. This fear is called Parcopresis. I don't actually suffer from it. I myself just have a flat out refusal to poo in public toilets. What I have is a fear of people who are happy to poo in public toilets. Because it's wrong. And I imagine it does take some nerve. There's nothing quite like walking into a shopping centre toilet and realising there has been a recent poo. Or worse, one in the happening. You  feel the whole atmosphere is soiled somehow. Well it is actually.

Now I don't consider myself a blatant germ freak but I'm not in denial about being one either. I do feel my shoulders tense if someone sneezes in a small room with me and I'm one of those people hot on your heels coming out of the toilet door so I don't have to touch it myself. And I never ever let my kids play with the toys at the doctors surgery. And that birthday cake never seems so appealing after a few kids have blown the candles out.

So it was a good but also scary thing for me to discover this book

And I just want to know a couple of things. Are people out there wiping their arse with their hands or something? How does fecal matter end up in so many places. When they tested movie theatre headrests they found fecal germs, and they found  candida on the seats. WTF?

And just a little tip. Ther Germiest Things in Your Home are;

Kitchen dishcloth, kitchen sink, toilet bowl, kitchen garbage can, refrigerator, bathroom doorknob, cutting board.

In fact the kitchen sponge can harbour 7.2 billion germs. And 90% of kitchen sinks carry salmonella.

Oh and don't forget that if you leave the toilet lid open when you flush all those fecal germs are going to fly all over the place and probably land on your toothbrush.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

19 thoughts on “Germ Freaks Unite

  1. when you fart you are spreading more fecal matter and inhaling it… nice huh… omg my sister can't poop in a public bathroom… but you will hate me i can… so if i have the pooping feeling i have to go find the nearest bathroom… i've done it in college, church, walmart, gas stations, oh in the grass once… but thats another story… ewww now i'm slightly gross but it is amazing that there is fecal matter on the back of the seats in movie theaters… gross…

    candy

  2. I heard a nurse once say that when they are in the operating theatre and if they fart then that contaminates the room. Which is a bit worrying. Lol – now I have done it in the great outdoors – but a gas station – Candy, how could you!

  3. definitely – once your immune system is weakened you catch things so easily. I've just been to see the bank manager and he wanted to shake my hand. Then he told me how he'd been sick all weekend with some bug!

  4. I once blogged about how much of a freak I felt about using the loo until I heard that I wasn't the only person who couldn't use the loo if there was anyone else within earshot.
    It's seriously messed up when you can't even use your own toilet because next door has the window cleaner up a ladder and could possibly hear the gentle splash of doings.

    As for the toothbrush thing, I clearly recall watching a Mythbusters experiiment all about that very point and actually, they discovered that poo germs get on your toothbrush and pretty much everywhere else whether the loo seat is up or not. All I can say is, mmm, tasty :S

  5. well I keep my toothbrush shut away in the cupboard – ever since my kids took a photo of it with a large cockroach clinging to the bristles.
    I know where you're coming from with the tradesmen thing though. Whenever there's a builder/plumber whatever here doing work, my husband gets these urgent whispered phone calls from me saying 'come home now, I have to go to the toilet and I need you to guard the door'.

  6. I don't normally dump in public toilets but if I had to, I could. As bizarre and ewwy this topic is, let's face it: we humans are as basic as what we consider animals. At least they don't have to bother about running out of bog paper.

  7. i was traveling from PA to TX… traveling 8 to 12 hour days… thats the excuse… and the other time was because i was looking at apartments all day and i didn't have a hotel to get to… thats it so far… the worse bathroom was at a city park… it was nasty as all hell i would rather just pee on a tree than in that bathroom…

    candy

  8. well going by the amount of fecal germs they're finding around the place I'm thinking a fair few people aren't worrying about running out of paper either, just use their hands.

  9. They say that used in small amounts they're not a problem and that it's not absolutely certain that they do breed superbugs but why take the chance. And that triclosan can break down human skin cells. Also that some companies are selling soaps as antibacterial that don't have enough triclosan in them to do anything, so they're just playing on peoples fears.

  10. Cat, I have to say that this is an absolutely amazing sociological phenomenon you've got here. We're all attracted to this topic on shit… just like flies! Imagine if it were real turds we were finessing.

  11. lol – we'll work on that next. When I had the blog at wordpress for a while they have a feature were you can see what phrase people have entered in their search engine to get to your blog. And I was amazed at the amount of people who are searching for issues relating to toilet fear. I think people need to eat more fibre!!

Leave a Reply

