Flown the coop

Kimba has gone. Left home. Maybe. She and a friend  packed as much as they could in a small car, including a large guitar and have gone to the coast. They are hoping to find work and somewhere to live. And although I love her dearly and she could live here for ever if it was ABSOLUTELY necessary, I'm already seeing some benefits of her being gone. The end of the bath is clean. No half empty shampoo bottles, bobby pins or hairbands, razors or bits of soap. The toothpaste is in the tube, not squeezed all over the bench. There are not plates and glasses on every surface I see. No socks. No shoes. And no bloody thumping up and down the hall dancing to the Ipod in the middle of the night.

I hope it works out for them. Mainly because it will be a lot of fun for them.  It doesn't seem that long ago that she was like this. Now I know it doesn't look like I was being terribly responsible with her but that is her father and her godfather – even though they look about 17. Well, they weren't much older actually. Bloody westies.

And as you can see it had no negative effects on her as this is her now.

Hav fun Kimba. Cool hair by the way. You know you can always come back if you have to.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

22 thoughts on “Flown the coop

  1. A wise man once said to me, "Don't think when they leave home, they take their problems with them, they just come back with bigger problems". Like we did…

  2. It's a harsh series of lessons we all learn as parents, isn't it? Loving and letting go… they seem so diametrically opposed yet we need to go throught this rite of passage. I often think parents learn more from this whole family bizzo.
    I know the Ninjettes give me the absolute crappers sometimes, but I'd be a babbling mess if they ever decided to up and leave home. I'd be like the typical Greek dad who goes: "But why????!!!"

  3. And how am I supposed to know what time she gets home at night. You go from making them let you know everything, where they are, who they're with, what time they'll be home – to knowing absolutely nothing. Now I have to worry from a distance,

  4. Wow!! I am sort of surprised!! This is the girl who was afraid to go out in Hawaii! 🙂 Still I suppose that was 2 years ago! I was going to post a photo of her with Princess SJ but thought she might not like it… might do it tomorrow now as she is not likely to see it. Where on the coast? (not near the grand parents? LOL)

  5. She has had a transformation. Hit her straps. Just saw there was a lot "out there". Still says hawaii was the best time of her life. not near grandparents – central.

  6. "There are only two lasting bequests we can can hope to give our children. One of these is roots; the other, wings. "-William Hodding Carter, Jr.
    She is trying out her wings. Here's to a sweet flight, Kimba! And ((((hugs of a job well done)))) to Cat!

  7. yes it's a good thing that they feel they can go, otherwise they end up those weird people who still live with their mothers when they're 50. But there is a terrible moment when you think – 'but what if I've done it all wrong'

  8. I often wonder if my mother – who is 73, lies in bed at night and worries about me. Surely there must come a time when you feel like you can relax. Say it's so. Please.

  9. I can't say what it'd be like to be 73 as I'm not quite there yet. I'm around your vintage, remember?? Letting go is not as romantic or easy as some people might like to believe. It's a brutal process methinks. A lot of pain, hurt and suffering in silence before the sun shines.

  10. Cool kid, cool Mum, cool hair and fucking funny photo of her as a baby with what looks like two totally wasted random men who are wondering what the hell is this baby doing sat in between us?????Can you be my mum please?

  11. My mother says you never stop worrying. My daugther leaves for college the end of the this summer. Sharing your stories helps me. I will have a clean bathroom huh? Jess leaves all the same things around. My daugther was a complete scardy cat a few years ago and now she is getting her wings too.
    We are lucky to have such sweet beautiful daughters.
    And I must comment that your tiles are MAGNIFICENT. I love them.

  12. yeah – they just seem to suddenly grow up. My son is leaving this year as well so I'll only have one left. I'm expecting my grocery bill to be much reduced.
    Glad you like the tiles – stay tuned, more to come. I have them almost perfected.

Leave a Reply

