More about coasters

I'd just like to start by saying that felt may possibly be the hardest fabric there is to cut. It seems to be for me anyway. And if anyone knows a nifty way to make it easy and straight please pass it on.

I'd also like to say that there is nothing quite like having an idea that works. Rather than one that fails spectacularly. I've been making these coasters from tiles – and the larger ones I did the seven sins on – and often when you spray them with varnish they get little tiny spots  – air bubble maybe thingy's. And even though my family say "no one's going to hold them up to the light and twist them this way and that and see them",  I know I would.  And I hate it when things aren't just right. So I thought – well, what if I just sand them back after the first coat and spray them again. (I'm the youngest remember, the risk taker.) So there I was with my beautiful tile, my piece of sandpaper and Kimba saying – I can't believe you're going to do that. But did it I did – then sprayed again. And she is gorgeous. Colours are brilliant and they're much more glossy. I'm going back over everything now.

I'd like to finish by saying there's nothing as annoying as seeing a small insect or piece of dog hair floating by while you have the sray varnish event happening.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

8 thoughts on “More about coasters

Leave a Reply

