magpies – the good and the bad

See this ugly little bird. It's a baby magpie. And what I'd like to do, is find a large rock, medium sized even and smash it's head in. It's right outside my window here and does not shut up. It squawks not stop until the mother comes and feeds it and the second she leaves it's back at it. It's a wonder it hasn't droped from the tree in exhaustion. Where's the hawk that hangs around here and rips doves heads off when I need it. This thing shall no doubt grow up to be a savage attacker like the others. Our magpies in australia aren't like the american ones. I think american magpies are related to the raven. Ours are related to the currawong and spend spring flying around attacking people who go to close to their nests. And although there is nothing quite so funny as watching someone get swooped by a magpie when you're driving by in your car, there's nothing funny about it at all when you hear those flapping wings and clacking beak around your ears. They've been known to put out eyes and rip out hair. In fact one hit Lizzie right in the side of the head recently, which we had a good laugh about. Well, not her obviously.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The thing is though that adult magpies have the most wonderful song. Lizzie does an impersonation actually that is a bit like it but much more annoying. And I'm not sure if I've mentioned it before but if I have, bad luck, my father used to tell me a story when I was young about why the magpies sing. It was an aboriginal dreamtime story. They have stories about how everything was created. About time before time. And I liked the magpies and the first sunrise one so I made this about it. And if you've already seen it you can marvel at it's brilliance again.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

15 thoughts on “magpies – the good and the bad

  1. And what I'd like to do, is find a large rock, medium sized even and smash it's head in.
    As long as it's not a mocking bird. Tis a sin to kill a mocking bird, or so I've heard.
    The art piece is terrific, as always.

  2. These birds are curious creatures. They can be nurturing yet extremely territorial. I've been a near-victim of their swoops on a few occasions… very unnerving.

  3. I'm sure you jest about your children, or at least I hope so. I'm lucky to have 2 great 20 something's, and a precious 10 year old and darling 4 year old. I wouldn't trade them for anything, even when they drive me as crazy as the baby magpies. Please don't hit anything living with a rock. That's just not good. :/

  4. Well I was thinking about doing one on the frog – tidalik I think he was – have to finish up the sin tiles first. Just need another layer of varnish then I can put them on the wall.

  5. yes – I jest – I have fantastic kids and I'm always extremely grateful to them when we go out and see some of the revolting, badly behaved other ones out there. 4 kids always seemed a lot more than 3. We considered 4 but it would've meant a bigger car, bigger house, bigger food bill. I shall not stone anything to death, except maybe my husband.

  6. Oh you guys are exaggerating. I have NEVER been swooped by a magpie, they are beautiful birds. They nest at our house every year sometimes they have two hatches so we have a huge family of them hanging around. One young one dropped out of its nest once and although the mother magpie was concerned she never touched us.They generally only become aggressive when people have treated them badly in the past or if you are a postman.Of course I like them too because they are my footy clubs emblem – Go the Mighty Magpies!Now if you want to talk about nasty birds try taking on a spur winged plover! I once had to crawl 1km to our house on the family farm waving my jumper around over me to get home safely.Great magpie story from the Dreamtime, thanks for that 🙂

  7. try the pigeons in downtown houston. they've mutated and are more agressive than the crack-pushers. they even mate in public and i think they like it. if you don't watch them they'll squawk and come chase u. wth?

Leave a Reply

